TTU College of Education Organizational Structure and Mission

Organizational Structure

Since the founding of Tennessee Technological University in 1915, teacher education has been recognized as a vital component of the institution. The organizational structure of the College of Education at Tennessee Technological University has evolved significantly over the years, and it is currently configured into the following academic departments and support units:

Academic Departments

Department of Art

Department of Counseling and Psychology

Department of Curriculum and Instruction

Department of Exercise Science, Physical Education, and Wellness

Department of Music

Support Units

Advising Center

Child Development Laboratory

Learning Resources Center

Learning Support Program

Office of Teacher Education

Mission Statement

Through the collaborative efforts of the five academic departments and the five support units, the College of Education maintains a continual focus upon a five-point mission:

1. Preparing caring, competent professionals for a diverse, technological society through the domains of performance, dispositions and knowledge.

2. Providing high quality preparation programs for undergraduate and graduate candidates that are focused upon improving P-12 teacher effectiveness and student performance.

3. Providing a model early childhood development laboratory.

4. Providing resources and opportunities for professional development that benefit school districts, teachers, and students throughout the TTU service region.

5. Supporting educational organizations and events through the Upper Cumberland, the state, and the region.

2012-2013 Goals