News and Events

  • Applications are invited for two tenure-track positions at the rank of assistant professor beginning August, 2014. For the first position, candidates must hold a Ph.D. in mathematics by August 2014. The area of research much be in numerical analysis or scientific computing. For the second position, candidates must hold a Ph.D. in mathematics or statistics with a strong mathematical background by August 2014.
  • Dr. Padmini Veerapen joined the mathematics faculty as Assistant Professor in fall 2013.  Dr. Veerapen earned her Ph.D. at the University of Texas at Arlington and her research interests are in Noncommutative Algebra and Noncommutative Algebraic Geometry.
  • Dr. Sam Narimetla was named a recipient of the 2013 Outstanding Faculty Award for Teaching at the spring commencement.
  • Eight mathematics students were awarded degrees at the May 2013 Commencement.  Nathaniel Beaty, Leah Frauendienst, BJ Guerrero, Stephen Mackie, and Justin Vann were awarded the B.S. in Mathematics, and Christopher Hatcher, Gayan Maduranga, and William Wilhoite were awarded the M.S. in Mathematics.
  • On  Tuesday, April 16, 2013, approximately 333 middle school and high school students from Upper Cumberland schools participated in the 57th Annual Tennessee Mathematics Teachers' Association Mathematics Contest on the TTU Campus.
  • On April 11, 2013 the Mathematics Department hosted its 11th Annual Integration Bee.  The winners were 1st place - Richard W. Vradenburgh, Freshman, Mathematics; 2nd place - Jared D. Davis, Sophomore, Mechanical Engineering; 3rd place - Hieu Pham, Junior, Secondary Education Mathematics; and Benjamin Rentschler, Sophomore, Mechanical Engineering.   A donation from First Tennessee Bank enabled us to award cash prizes for first, second, and third place. 
  • Patsy Peavyhouse, administrative associate in the math department, was named Tennessee Tech University’s ambassador of the month for December. You can read about it in this issue of  Tech Times.
  • The Math Department office won the 2012 Awesome Office Competition held during Tech Pride Week.  Brian O'Connor, Troy Brachey, Tommy Elliott, Patsy Peavyhoust and Vickie Mayberry prepared the video submitted by the departmental office.  The fact that the Math Department office has won the award five consecutive years is evidence of the creativity of Patsy and Vickie. 
  • Dr. Damian Kubiak and Dr. Tonya Riddlesworth joined the mathematics faculty as assistant professors in fall 2012.  Dr. Kubiak earned his Ph.D at the University of Memphis and his research interests are in analysis.  Dr. Riddlesworth earned her Ph.D at the University of Central Florida and is interested in research in biomedical statistics. 
  • In December 2011 Mr. Troy Brachey received the TTU General Education Award for Outstanding Teaching. 
  • Dr. Sabine Le Borne will spend the 2011-12 academic year as Director of the Computational Mathematics Program at the National Science Foundation.  She will organize and oversee the program’s merit review process for grant proposals.  Sabine is the first TTU faculty member to be selected to serve as a program director for the NSF. You can read more about her work in the Tech Times.
  • Patsy Peavyhouse and Vickie Mayberry used their creativity and decorating skills to win an Awesome Office award for the departmental office decorations during 2011 Purple Pride Days.  This is the fourth consecutive year that the math office has won first place in the small office category.
  • The departmental office earned an Awesome Office award for its decorations during Purple Pride Days in 2010.  This is the third year in a row that the math office has won first place in the small office category. The secretaries came up with the theme, "Reelin' In Purple Pride." The deaprtment's secretaries, Patsy Peavyhouse and Vickie Mayberry, created the award-winning "Let the Fun Begin" and "Techaroo" decorations in 2008 and 2009, respectively.
  • Three TTU students participated in the 26th annual Mathematical Contest in Modeling sponsored by COMAP, the Consortium for Mathematics and its Applications. Over 2254 teams representing institutions from 14 countries participated in this year’s contest. The team from TTU consisted of two mathematics majors, Andrew Starnes and Daniel Wilkerson, and one chemical engineering major, Ryan Pavlovsky. The team was designated as Meritorious Winners. Dr. Andrew Hetzel volunteered his time as faculty advisor for the team.
  • Mathematics Department secretary Vickie Mayberry received the 2008 Outstanding Staff Award.
  • Dr. Richard Le Borne was named a recipient of the 2008 Outstanding Faculty Award for Teaching at spring commencement.
  • Dr. David Smith was named a recipient of the 2007 Outstanding Faculty Award for Teaching at spring commencement and a Distinguished Faculty Fellow at the Fall University Faculty Meeting.


Apply Now