Order of the Engineers Induction Ceremony on December 13

Since 1971, Tennessee Tech University has been a Tennessee Link of the Order of the Engineer, and has since admitted over 6,500 engineers to the Order, including a large percentage of the engineering faculty and each graduating class.

Members of the Order can be recognized by a stainless steel ring on the small finger of the working hand. The ring signifies a commitment to the Obligations of an Engineer, and holds the wearer to moral, ethical and professional standards. In the words of Homer Barton, one of the founders:

The ring is a constant reminder of the wearer’s calling, a bond of strength in adversity, and assurance that one is not alone in our endeavor but is joined by a vast number of colleagues with common purpose and resolution. It is a badge of recognition, also, which the public will know. Let it be worn with pride and viewed with honor.

“Who is entitled to enter the Order and wear the ring? Only those who have met the high standards of engineering training, administration or practice and who voluntarily accept the obligation. The ring is not a trinket to be bought, not an award to confer carelessly. It is rather, the symbol of the commitment of the engineer to the profession.”

“The Order of the Engineer is an indication of pride in engineering by a profession that believes in learned preparation and devoted service.

This year’s recipients of the Order of the Engineer are as follows:

Ahmed M. Aljamaan

Salman Mutlq Al-khaldi

Blake Andrew Allison

Ian Brice Anderson

Steven R. Anton, Ph.D.

Keith Atkins

Joshua Durham Baker

Harold P. Balthrop III

Indranil Bhattacharya, Ph.D.

Jacob Kirby Brooks

Amber L. Butcher

Raven Cross

Brandon Tyler Davis

Renaldo A. Erskine

Zachary Scott Fluhart

Paige N. Foster

John Greene

James A. Hannan II

Shauna DeAnn Harbison

Chance Andrew Holt


James L. Hopper

Christopher Lee kirk

Justin M. Lewis

Ethan Ty Livingston

Michael Mason

Matthew Mckay

Brad Montgomery

Joshua N. Moser

Vahid Motevalli, Ph.D., P.E.

Garrett Gardner Perry

Morgan Powers

Kyle Ray

Andrew David Redmon

Mark Straussberger

Alyssa Nicole Sughrue

Willaim S. Thomas

Jo Ellen Thompson

Robert Kramer Tuggle

Aaron Leonard Wright

Matthew Thomas Yarnold, Ph.D., P.E.

Department Links
Apply Now