TTU Business Foundation Chooses New Board Members

Tennessee Technological University's Business Administration Foundation recently announced its selection of the 1997-98 new board members, and six are from Cookeville.

Local new members include D. Mike Byrd, district manager of Citizens Communications; Rex Hitchcock, director of financial services at the Bank of Putnam County; Handley Oswalt, retired, Air Force Systems Command; Magdalena Rappl, associate professor in the department of economics finance and marketing at Tennessee Tech; Bill Shuster, publisher of the Herald-Citizen; and James Wright, president of Phoenix USA, Inc. State Representative Jere Hargrove was also chosen as a new board member.

"The Foundation enhances the quality of business education at Tennessee Tech by bringing the current issues and challenges facing the business community to the classroom. We are pleased to have such a talented and successful group of business leaders supporting our academic programs and are excited to have the current group of new members coming aboard to join the Foundation's efforts," said Robert R. Bell, dean of the College of Business.

Heather Hallowell of Anderson Consulting joined the Foundation as a representative of the Master's of Business Administration Alumni Association. Hallowell serves as president of the MBA Alumni Association for 1997-98 and will serve on the Business Foundation Board of Directors during her term in office.

The College of Business Administration Foundation is a group of business leaders who provide financial support for the college through scholarships and endowments and participate in programs to help students with career-related issues.

Other new members include R. John Clark, retired from Hoechst Celanese Corporation in Charlotte, N.C.; Michael Cowan, manager of Organization Effectiveness at Proctor & Gamble in Cincinnati, Ohio; A. Scott Kendrick, senior manager at Ernst & Young LLP in Nashville; Ralph Loveless, general manager and executive vice president at Meriwether Lewis Electric Cooperative in Centerville; J. Scott Maddux, partner at Neiman-Maddux Group in Chattanooga; Robert Michaels, president of Service Rug Co. Inc. in Dalton, Ga.; Thomas Neal Jr., executive consultant at H.H. Brown Company from Castalian Springs; and Everett Warren, president of American Manufacturing Company in Chattanooga.