Baldrige Award director to fill Tennessee Tech chair of excellence

Tennessee Technological University's College of Business Administration recently named Curt Reimann to fill the W. Eugene Mayberry Chair of Excellence in Business Administration for Quality and Technology Management. Reimann was the director of the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award from its inception in 1987 until his retirement in 1995.

At Tennessee Tech, Reimann will develop international/export readiness criteria for the Baldrige framework used for the Tennessee Quality Award, teach classes and work directly with business graduate students and faculty to further the College's quality initiatives.

Lynda Popwell, vice president for quality at Eastman Chemical Company, a 1993 Baldrige National Quality Award winner, said of the appointment, "Through Dr. Reimann's leadership as director of the Baldrige program, America's businesses have reached new heights of quality excellence. Tennessee businesses will benefit greatly from his work with Tennessee Tech and the Tennessee Quality Award."

"I am pleased to become part of a very fine program at Tennessee Tech's College of Business Administration, and, through this program, to work with the very successful Tennessee Quality Award," says Reimann. "I have long believed that the U.S.' ability to compete in world markets depends upon greater leadership exercised by its business schools."

Reimann is a senior scientist emeritus at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (N.I.S.T.), where he served as the director of Quality Programs and deputy director of the National Measurement Laboratory for 33 years. He was awarded the U.S. Department of Commerce's Gold Medal for leadership of N.I.S.T. in the field of chemical measurements.

Reimann's numerous honors include a Distinguished Rank Award bestowed by President George Bush, the 1994 Quality and Productivity Management Association Leadership Award and the 1995 Tennessee Governor's Quality Award. The Baldrige Award recognizes U.S. companies for excellence in increasing quality and performance and improving competitiveness. The annual award is administered by the N.I.S.T., an agency of the Department of Commerce. Past recipients of the Baldrige Award include AT&T Consumer Communications Service and Federal Express.

The W. Eugene Mayberry Chair of Excellence was created at Tennessee Tech to strengthen instruction in quality management, expand the university's contribution to the body of knowledge in quality and technology management and enhance the university's ability to serve the state and the region.

Apply Now