Legacies of James Seay Brown and Wallace S. Prescott honored at College of Engineering reception; also honored are TVA Chairs and Outstanding Young Alumnus

The legacies of James Seay Brown and Wallace S. Prescott will be honored at a reception at Tennessee Tech University on Thursday, Oct. 5.

Unveiling of plaques commemorating Brown and Prescott, who both played key roles in establishing Tennessee Tech as a premier engineering university, will take place during the Board of Engineering Advisors meeting at the TTU College of Engineering Honors Reception in Brown Hall, room 208, from 11 a.m. to noon. Food will be served and the reception is free and open to the public.

In addition to honoring Brown and Prescott at this reception, the College of Engineering will recognize Professors Robert A. Smoak and Pritindra Chowdhuri for their service with TVA and also recognize the Outstanding Young Alumnus, James N. Peters.

For more than 38 years, Brown, a 1941 alumnus of TTU, served Tennessee Tech and the engineering profession as an instructor, a public servant and administrator. He joined TTU's engineering faculty in 1941, and then served as chairman of the Mechanical Engineering Department from 1950 to 1961. In 1961, he was named Dean of Engineering, a position he held until 1979.

As Dean of Engineering, Brown led the College of Engineering in receiving accreditation for its engineering curriculum and he also initiated the engineering graduate programs at both the master's and doctoral levels. As dean, he served two years on the Board of Architects and Engineers Examiners. He was selected as the Outstanding Professional Engineer for Middle Tennessee in 1972 and as a Tennessee Tech Engineer of Distinction in 1981.

Prescott, who graduated from TTU in 1946 and joined the engineering faculty that same year, served Tennessee Tech for nearly 40 years as an educator, scholar, public servant and administrator.

From 1962 to 1983, he was TTU's Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, and two years after retiring, he came back to Tennessee Tech to serve as interim president from 1985 to 1987.

Prescott received the Distinguished Alumnus Award of Tennessee Tech in 1977, the Outstanding Civilian Service Award of the U.S. Army in 1983, and the Founder's Award of West Georgia in 1983. He was selected as a Tennessee Tech Engineer of Distinction in 1984.

TVA officials will also recognize two TTU engineering professors for their continuing work in the area of mechanical and electrical engineering: Robert A. Smoak and Pritindra Chowdhuri.

Last year, Chowdhuri received the Tennessee Board of Regents Distance Education Committee Innovation Award and has also been listed in "Who's Who in America," "Who's Who in the World," "International Who's Who in Engineering," and "Who's Who in Technology Today." Chowdhuri is also a researcher with the Center for Electric Power at Tennessee Technological University.

In 1996, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) named Chowdhuri a Fellow in the Institute, a distinction given to less than one in one thousand members each year.

Smoak has been teaching at TTU for 16 years, serving on the Stonecipher Symposium Committee and advising the award-winning Mini Baja Team.

His areas of specialty are modeling of power plants, automatic controls and dynamics. He is also a faculty associate for TTU's Center for Manufacturing Research.

TTU's Outstanding Young Alumnus, to be honored Oct. 5 by the College of Engineering, is James Peters, a 1991 graduate. Peters works for Eastman Chemical Co. in Kingsport where he heads up many projects and is an Area Supervisor in the Plant Engineering Department, responsible for a group of 25 engineers, technologists and technicians.