Nathan Tudor first TTU student named to state Higher Education Commission

Nathan Tudor, a junior at Tennessee Tech University, is the first person from the university chosen to serve on the Tennessee Higher Education Commission.

Gov. Don Sundquist recently appointed Tudor to THEC as a student member. His term will run to June 2002. Cookeville businessman and former City Council member Noble Cody was recently appointed to to a seat on the State Board of Regents, the first-ever Regents member from Putnam County and possibly from the Upper Cumberland region.

A double major in political science and history, Tudor graduated from Cookeville High School in 1998 and spent this past summer working in Nashville for State Attorney General Paul Summers. He also worked for US Congressman Bart Gordon and Cookeville attorney Hank Fincher.

"Being named to the commission is a big honor, not only for myself, but for my family and TTU and the Cookeville community," Tudor said. "I had help from a lot of people and am grateful for their support, including President Angelo Volpe and President Bob Bell, and for the governor's confidence."

Tudor is a member of the Student Government Association at TTU as well as a Student Orientation Leader and a member of the social fraternity Sigma Chi. His parents are Roy and Diana Tudor of Cookeville.

"My goal is to be governor of Tennessee," said Tudor, smiling.

"And I think serving on THEC will be good experience. One of my top priorities if I'm elected governor will be higher education," he added, noting that as an aspiring politician it's never too early to get your message out.

Tudor said he plans to have a "hands on" approach to serving on THEC.

"I want to be there and be representative of the students, staff and faculty of Tennessee Tech. I also want to help my community," he said. "With me being the first person from Tennessee Tech to be appointed to THEC, I plan to do well and hopefully open doors for others."

The Tennessee Higher Education Commission was created by the Tennessee General Assembly to achieve coordination and foster unity in higher education in this state. The Commission coordinates two systems of higher education, the University of Tennessee institutions governed by the University of Tennessee Board of Trustees, and the state universities, community colleges, technical institutes and technology centers governed by the Tennessee Board of Regents.

THEC is composed of nine lay members, with six-year terms, representing congressional districts of the State; three Constitutional Officers who are ex-officio voting members (Comptroller of the Treasury, State Treasurer, and Secretary of State); two ex-officio student members, with one voting each year, (one student member from the University of Tennessee System with a two year term, and one student member from the Tennessee Board of Regents System with a two year term); and, the Executive Director of the State Board of Education, as an ex-officio non-voting member.