Tennessee Tech College of Business Names Outstanding Faculty

Recognition of outstanding business faculty at Tennessee Technological University this year included three awards - and four winners.

Deryl Martin and Bob Wood shared the College of Business Administration's Overall Performance Award because the two collaborated all year on research and teaching. Martin, an associate professor in Economics, Finance and Marketing, and Wood, an assistant professor in the same department, together authored several papers, made award-winning presentations at professional meetings and organized a field trip with students to the New York Stock Exchange. Both received superior evaluations for teaching.

Charles Caldwell, chair of the Department of Accounting and Business Law, received the Curtis Kinslow Award for Excellence in Teaching. Caldwell was chosen for his leadership of the Accounting department, which continues to excel in teaching and teaching-related research, according to Robert Bell, dean of Business Administration. "Caldwell's administrative responsibilities were put to the test this year with a shortage of personnel, but his exceptional leadership again was more than equal to the task," said Bell.

John Burnham, professor of Decision Sciences and Management, played a key role in collaborating with other faculty members to develop a research proposal for the National Science Foundation. The proposal garnered $364,000 in research funding over three years and the College's Award for Excellence in Research for Burnham.

Burnham also secured a $5,000 grant from the American Production and Inventory Control Society for logistics support for a local corporation, collaborated with Bell to publish their book, Managing Productivity and Change in Australia, and contributed cases to another book.

Dean Bell announced the awards at the annual College of Business Administration Foundation Awards Banquet in the spring. A nominating committee from the Foundation's Board of Directors reviews faculty performance data and selects the winners for each award. Each winner receives a plaque and $1,000. A portrait of the Overall Performance Award winners is hung in the Dean's Conference Room in Johnson Hall.