TTU cheerleaders win first national championship

Tennessee Tech University's Competitive Cheerleading Squad members reign as national champions after winning the first national competition in which they competed.

The squad won the CAN-AM Open College Nationals Competition hosted by Cheer LTD in Myrtle Beach. S.C., earning the title of 2007 Large Co-ed National Champions.

"This competitive team has been working very hard since the summer months of 2006 to perfect a two-and-a-half minute routine that showcases a combination of their skills in cheer, dance, tumbling and stunting," said Coach Robin Burroughs.

The competitive cheerleading squad is made up of all 16 members of the Tennessee Tech Co-ed cheerleading squad, five members of Tennessee Tech’s first All Girl cheerleading squad, and Tennessee Tech’s Awesome Eagle.

Each member of the TTU competitive squad received a gold medal, championship T-shirt and a championship jacket.  The university received a championship banner now displayed in the TTU Fitness Center as well as a championship trophy that will also be on display there in the future.

"The Tennessee Tech Cheerleaders would like to thank all of their sponsors and also appreciate all of the support that they have received throughout the year from the community," said Burroughs.  "They would also like to thank Tennessee Tech University and especially David Mullinax and Suzann Hensley for their support, which has enabled them to make this goal a reality."

Team members are seniors Jason Wilton (Awesome Eagle), Wynne Presley, Jennifer Turner, Jessica Karlosky, Billy Sharp, Nate Mainord, Brian Birch, Clark Ellis and Brandon Clowers; juniors Dana Hale, Vanessa Trisdale, Casey Hackett, Cayla Armistead, Mandy Oldham and Thomas Chip Collier; sophomores Melanie Doi, Josh Mellons and Evan Montgomery; and freshmen Ashley Bowling, Ashley Farris, Chantelle Woodward and Amber Cockrill.