TTU's music and art Awards Night celebration set for Sept. 26

A celebration of Tennessee Tech University’s award-winning student artists and musicians is set to begin at 6:30 p.m. on Monday, Sept. 26, in the Bryan Fine Arts Building.

The annual Scholarship and Awards Celebration, presented by TTU’s music and art department, honors the achievements of student musicians and artists who have this year received privately endowed departmental scholarships.

It kicks off with an artists’ reception, where scholarship donors and contributors, faculty, administrators, students and other guests can view the work of this year’s recognized student artists.

Exhibitors will include Daniel Bennett Davis, Jessie Bean Goodman, Aaron McIntosh, Christina Hewgley, Jeffrey Clark and Nathan Andrew Chapman.

The event continues with an awards ceremony at 7 p.m. Presenters will be Jonathan Good, chair of TTU’s music and art department; Patricia Coleman, director of art education; and Catherine Godes, professor of piano.

Following the awards presentation, the event will wrap up in the building’s Wattenbarger Auditorium with a performance by this year’s award-winning student musicians.

Recital performers will include Kyle Huron and Jesse Gram, tuba; Curtis Prichard, euphonium; Jenny Easterling and Matthew Reaves, vocalists; Michael Butler, trumpet; Tanner Hunt and Leah Uthus, horn; James Todd Arnold, piano; and Keera Johnson, clarinet.

The 2005 Scholarship and Awards Celebration is free and open to the public.

For more information or program details, call TTU’s music and art department at 931/372-3161.