University Research Advisory Committee

I. NAME – University Research Advisory Committee of Tennessee Technological University

II. PURPOSE AND SCOPE – The University Research Advisory Committee advises the President and Provost on strategies to stimulate growth in research and externally funded scholarly activities within the university community. The Committee advises on the development of a comprehensive structure and network of activities to foster externally funded scholarly activities. The Committee reports directly to either the Academic Council or Administrative Council, or both, depending on the matter at hand. In carrying out its function the Committee will:

A.  Identify strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and challenges to research growth and externally funded scholarly activities at TTU;

B. Identify emerging research opportunities anticipated across the academic disciplines;

C. Make recommendations regarding intellectual and infrastructure needs required to capitalize on major research opportunities;

D. Develop plans and make recommendations for accessing, supporting and sustaining existing and emerging research thrust areas;

E. Review current practices in research administration and recommend strategies to foster research growth; and

F. Make recommendations regarding the commercialization of research and intellectual property issues.

III. MEMBERS – The Committee will consist of the following members appointed by the President and Provost of the University. The President or Provost may request nominations or suggestions from the Deans of the Colleges represented and/or the Associate Vice President for Research and Graduate Studies.

A. FACULTY – A minimum of nine (9) faculty members with representation for the five (5) colleges and one (1) school as follows:

• College of Agricultural and Human Sciences: one (1) member

• College of Arts and Sciences: one (1) member

• College of Business Administration: one (1) member

• College of Education: two (2) members

• College of Engineering: three (3) members to include one (1) Director of a Center of Excellence

• School of Interdisciplinary Studies: one (1) member

B. ADMINISTRATIVE – A minimum of two (2) chairs and one (1) dean or associate dean from the colleges involved in externally sponsored research and creative activities.

C. STUDENTS – A minimum of two (2) students, selected from the list of names submitted by the President of the Student Government Association. Student membership will consist of one (1) undergraduate student and one (1) graduate student.

D. TERMS OF OFFICE – Student members will serve one (1) year terms, whereas faculty and administrative members will serve a three (3) year term. Appointments are to be effective at the beginning of the Fall Semester of the academic year. All appointments are subject to renewal at the discretion of the President or Provost.

E. VACANCIES – If a member is unable to continue service on the Committee, another member representing the same college or constituency shall be appointed by the President or Provost to serve the remainder of the term.

F. ATTENDANCE AT MEETINGS – If a member is unavoidabley absent from a meeting, he or she may designate a representative to attend on her/his behalf, provided that the substitute or representative is someone from the same college or constituency as the regular member, and that the chairperson of the Committee is notified ahead of time as to whom this proxy would be and the circumstances under which the substitute would be attending the meeting. The substitute shall exercise the rights and privileges of the member for whom he or she is substituting.


A. CHAIRPERSON – The Chairperson shall be elected from the Committee membership annually. She/he shall:

• Preside at all meetings or designate another member to preside.

• Schedule regular meetings of the Committee.

• Prepare a tentative agenda for each meeting for distribution to members of the Committee at least three working days prior to regular meetings and one day prior to special meetings.

• Approve the minutes of the meetings for distribution to the members of the Committee.

• Appoint special subcommittees as required.

• Call special meetings when necessary.

• Supervise the preparation and distribution of an annual Report of the Committee's activities.

B. EXECUTIVE OFFICER – The Associate Vice President for Research and Graduate Studies will serve as the executive officer and resource person for the Committee, and will also provide staff support services.


A. Regular meetings shall be scheduled at least two times per semester during the regular academic year. The date and time for such meetings shall be included in the Administrative Calendar. The Chairperson may call a special meeting when he/she deems such action necessary.

B. Items for inclusion in the tentative agenda of a regular meeting must be submitted to the Chairperson at least five (5) working days prior to the meeting. Items for a special meeting must be submitted at least two (2) working days prior to the meeting. Any member of the University community may submit tentative agenda items to the Chairperson.

C. The agenda shall be adopted at the beginning of each meeting by a majority vote of those present.

D. A simple majority of the voting members shall constitute a quorum. In determining the minimum number of members necessary for a quorum at any meeting, neither faculty members on official leave nor student members not currently enrolled will be counted.

E. In any matter requiring a vote, the vote of each Committee member present shall be recorded equally.

VI. SUBCOMMITTEES – Ad hoc subcommittees shall be appointed by the Chairperson of the Committee as she/he shall deem necessary, or as shall be deemed necessary by the Committee.

VII. PARLIAMENTARY AUTHORITY – The rules contained in the current edition of Robert's Rules of Order Newly Revised shall govern Committee meetings in all cases to which they are applicable and in which they are not inconsistent with these procedures. Suspension of these rules may be effected by a majority of voting members present.

VIII. AMENDMENT OF PROCEDURES – These procedures can be amended at any regular meeting of the Committee by a two-thirds vote of the voting members present, provided that the amendment has been submitted in writing to each member at least three (3) working days prior to the meeting. Amendments to Procedures are subject to final approval by the Academic Council and Administrative Council.

IX. COMMITTEE ACTION AND REVIEW – Actions of the Committee are subject to review by the Academic Council or Administrative Council, or both, depending on the matter at hand and approval by the President and Provost. The Committee will be required to submit annual reports to the Academic Council or Administrative Council or both.

X. EFFECTIVE DATE OF IMPLEMENTATION – The procedures shall become effective upon approval. Academic Council approval granted March 2, 2011.

Name TTU Box Term Expires
Sherrie Foster 5031 2014
Holly Stretz 5013 2014
Hayden Mattingly 5063 2013
P.K. Rajan 5004 2013
Holly Anthony 5042 2012
Sue Bailey 5035 2012
Stephen Canfield 5014 2012
Cathy Cunningham 5035 2012
Kenneth Currie 5077 2012
Subramaniam Deivanayagam 5046 2012
Bill Eberle 5101 2012
Steven Frye 5031 2012
Tor Guimaraes 5022 2012
Barry Stein 5031 2012
Katya Hoffman 10736 2012
Jeffery Thompson 7001 2012


Page Attachments

FileDescriptionFile size
Download this file (URAC_Procedures.pdf)PDF | University Advisory Committee 94 Kb
Apply Now