Academic Support

Financial Assistance for Education

TECTA is here to support you from our Orientation to a Ph.D in the field of ECED or similar majors.  In order to receive our service you MUST first attend one of our orientations.  After the orientation, we can help you on your educational the link for more information concerning financial assistance


Child Development Associate (CDA) Credential

The Child Development Associate (CDA) Training Program is a national credentialing effort to improve the quality of performance of individual staff members in their role as child caregivers. The program emphasizes competency-based instruction, including supervised field experiences. A CDA assistance program is coordinated with the TECTA local offices to provide support and advisement. The CDA Credential is awarded by the Council for Professional Recognition.


How does TECTA support  the CDA candaiate?

TECTA sponsored CDA assistance program includes the following steps:

Step I: Complete TECTA Orientation

Step II: Complete the required Early Childhood Courses

  • ECED 2010: Safe and Healthy Learning Environments
  • ECED 2130: Clinical Practicum I
  • ECED 2015: Early Childhood Curriculum
  • ECED 2040: Family Dynamics

Step III: Participate in CDA support group meetings sponsored by TECTA. TECTA support includes:

  • Providing you with an advisor
  • Completing the CDA Assessment Observation Instrument
  • Reviewing your Competency Statements and Resource File
  • Assisting you with completing the CDA application
  • Paying the Application Fee


Who issue the CDA Credential?

The Council for Professional Recognition is the grantor of the CDA Credential. TECTA assist candidates in the process of attaining their credential through tuition assistance, mentor and advisor support

Candidates for CDA assessment must meet the guidelines for submission of materials to the CDA Council.  The TECTA statewide management office will award assessment fee scholarships, as funds are available, on a quarterly basis to candidates who have completed the three steps outlined above.


Tennessee Early Childhood Program Administrator (TECPAC) Credential

The Tennessee Early Childhood Program Administrator Credential (TECPAC) is a Credential designed to give recognition to early childhood program Administrators and Directors. Candidates for the Credential are selected based on their experience and educational background. Earning the Credential takes ten months. In 2011, the TECPAC program began offering sessions in a hybrid format with a combination of online courses and face-to-face meetings. The first session of the Academy is a face-to-face session. This session is a workgroup provided to give additional support to the candidates. The following Online Academy sessions are provided in this sequence:

  • Session 1: Enrollment
  • Session 2: Introduction to the Academy
  • Session 3: PAS/BAS goal setting
  • Session 4: Leadership
  • Session 5: Early Childhood Management I
  • Session 6: Early Childhood Management II
  • Session 7: Building Family and Community Relationships
  • Session 8: Curriculum
  • Session 9: Assessment
  • Session 10: Portfolio Achievement                


The Online Academy offers the candidates an opportunity to meet with instructors and communicate with each other without leaving the comfort of their homes. In addition, the Online Academy cuts back on time away from centers, family childcare, or group homes.

Upon completion of the Online Academy sessions, candidates are assessed on a portfolio of program related documents and completed assignments. The Credential is awarded on four levels: Provisional, Standard, Advanced, and Master. The level awarded is based on each candidate’s individual experience and educational background.



  Contact  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it ), TECPAC Program Manager, for more information



Apply Now