ttu logo

tennessee technological university

Chemistry

<

Fall Retreat at Appalachian Center for Crafts, August 2014

CHEMISTRY DEPARTMENT FACULTY and STAFF

user
Thurston Banks

contact info
TBanks@tntech.edu
/ Box
user
Jeffrey Boles
Chairperson
Ph.D. University of South Carolina (Chemistry/Biochemistry)
contact info
JBoles@tntech.edu
Chemistry
Foster Hall (FOST) 221 / Box 5055
931-372-3421
about
Dr. Boles research is very cross-disciplinary but always involves either analytical biochemistry or fundamental biochemistry whether it be a project in Proteomics (including Environmental Proteomics), Forensics, Protein Chemistry or Structural Biochemistry. Dr. Boles founded the Proteomics working group at TTU in 2008 with funding provided by the National Science Foundation. Proteomics projects have included studies of the effects of the antibacterial compound triclosan on algae, the effect of gold nanoparticles on ciliates and the impact of selenomethionine and telluromethionine on E. coli.
user
Andrew Callender
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2006, University of Michigan
contact info
ACallender@tntech.edu
Chemistry
Foster Hall (FOST) 410 / Box 5055
931-372-6273
http://iweb.tntech.edu/acallender
about
Research: Analytical chemistry and spectroscopy, particularly for detection of new materials and emerging pollutants in the environment; low-cost analytical devices for the developing world.
user
Ben Carlen
Instructor
Ph.D University of Tennessee
contact info
wbcarlen@tntech.edu
Chemistry
Foster Hall (FOST) 323 / Box 5055
931-372-6324
about
My interests lie in the fields of physical, computational, and theoretical chemistry and physics. Education is also a very large part of my work. I want to teach a variety of courses and students to best understand how ideas may effectively and thoughtfully be communicated.
user
Ann Marie Carrick
Instructor
M.S. Biochemistry, Indiana University, Bloomington
contact info
acarrick@tntech.edu
Chemistry
Foster Hall (FOST) 205 / Box 5055
931-372-3426
resume / curriculum vitae
acarrick
user
Jesse Carrick
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. University of Alabama
contact info
jcarrick@tntech.edu
Chemistry
Foster Hall (FOST) 318 / Box 5055
931-372-6199
about
Research in the Carrick group is focused in three distinct, but complementary areas: 1) Total synthesis of biologically relevant natural products, 2) Synthesis of novel ligands for chemoselective minor actinide extraction, and 3) Development of efficient methods for the construction of functionalized synthons.
resume / curriculum vitae
jcarrick
user
William Carroll
Assistant Professor
contact info
wcarroll@tntech.edu
Chemistry
Foster Hall (FOST) 107 / Box 5055
931-372-6094
resume / curriculum vitae
wcarroll
user
Derek Cashman
Instructor
Ph.D., Virginia Commonwealth University; B.S., Old Dominion University
contact info
dcashman@tntech.edu
Chemistry
Foster Hall (FOST) 412 / Box 5055
931-372-6399
http://cmb.ornl.gov/people/cashman
about
Areas of expertise include: Biochemistry, Computational, Medicinal, Organic, and Physical Chemistry.
resume / curriculum vitae
dcashman
user
Janet Coonce
Instructor
M.S. Organic Chemistry, Emory University
contact info
JCoonce@tntech.edu
Chemistry
Foster Hall (FOST) 127 / Box 5055
931-267-6521
http://www.connectingchemistry.com
about
My educational research interests are in the development of games, animations, activities, and resources for introductory chemistry students.
resume / curriculum vitae
jcoonce
user
Amanda Crook
Instructor
Ph.D. Tennessee Technological University 2012
contact info
ajcrook@tntech.edu
Chemistry
Foster Hall (FOST) 323 / Box 5055
931-372-6324
resume / curriculum vitae
ajcrook
user
David Crouse
Associate Professor
contact info
DCrouse@tntech.edu
Chemistry
Foster Hall (FOST) 313 / Box 5055
931-372-3515
http://iweb.tntech.edu/dcrouse/index.html
resume / curriculum vitae
dcrouse
user
Dale Ensor
Emeritus Professor
contact info
DEnsor@tntech.edu
Restricted Dept of Teacher Educ
Foster Hall (FOST) 127 / Box 5055
931-372-3493
resume / curriculum vitae
densor
user
Tom Furtsch

contact info
TFurtsch@tntech.edu
/ Box
user
Robert Glinski
Professor
B.S., Chemistry, 1978, University of Wisconsin at Madison; Ph.D., Physical Chemistry, 1983, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities; Visiting Fellow, 1984, Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Science, University of Colorado, Boulder; Postdoctoral Fellow, 1985-86, National Center for Atmospheric Research, Boulder,Colorado. National Research Council Senior Research Associate, 1994-96, NASA-Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, Maryland.
contact info
RGlinski@tntech.edu
Chemistry
Foster Hall (FOST) 302 / Box 5055
931-372-3420
about
Interests include: Molecular emission spectroscopy, astronomical spectroscopy, astrochemistry, dynamics of molecules in astrophysical environments--comets and interstellar media.
resume / curriculum vitae
rglinski
user
Tammie Hanchey
Academic Support Associate 1
contact info
thanchey@tntech.edu
Chemistry
Foster Hall (FOST) 322 / Box 5055
931-372-6168
user
John Harwood
Professor
contact info
JHarwood@tntech.edu
Chemistry
Foster Hall (FOST) 222 / Box 5055
931-372-3473
http://jharwood6.wix.com/uc-sierra-club
resume / curriculum vitae
jharwood
user
Xiaohua Jiang
Assistant Professor
Ph.D Vanderbilt University
contact info
xjiang@tntech.edu
Chemistry
Foster Hall (FOST) 221 / Box 5055
931-372-3184
user
Eugene Kline
Professor
contact info
EKline@tntech.edu
Chemistry
Foster Hall (FOST) 208 / Box 5055
931-372-3422
user
Edward Lisic
Professor
contact info
EdLisic@tntech.edu
Chemistry
Foster Hall (FOST) 224 / Box 5055
931-372-3425
resume / curriculum vitae
edlisic
user
Twanelle Majors
Adjunct Faculty
Ph.D. Candidate, Tennessee Technological University (Exceptional Learning STEM), Ed.S. & M.S., Tennessee Technological University (Secondary Science Curriculum & Instruction), B.S. University of Tennessee Chattanooga (Pre-Medicine: Biology)
contact info
TMajors@tntech.edu
Chemistry
/ Box
about
Foster Hall 412A (931)372-6399
resume / curriculum vitae
tmajors
user
Wanda Maxwell
Administrative Associate 2
contact info
WMaxwell@tntech.edu
Chemistry
Foster Hall (FOST) 219 / Box 5055
931-372-3957
user
Wathsala Medawala
Instructor
contact info
wmedawala@tntech.edu
Chemistry
Foster Hall (FOST) 412 / Box 5055
931-372-6399
user
Gene Mullins
Coordinator
B.S., M.S. Chemistry Tenn. Tech. Univ.
contact info
GMullins@tntech.edu
Chemistry
Foster Hall (FOST) 322 / Box 5055
931-372-3536
http://iweb.tntech.edu/chemlabcoord/
resume / curriculum vitae
gmullins
user
Scott Northrup
Professor
Ph.D. University of Colorado, Boulder, 1979
contact info
SNorthrup@tntech.edu
Chemistry
Foster Hall (FOST) 407 / Box 5055
931-372-3748
http://iweb.tntech.edu/snorthrup/
about
Areas of Specialization: Physical Chemistry - i) Diffusion-controlled reactions in solution, ii) Barrier-crossing processes; Biophysical Chemistry - i) Computer simulation of atomic motion in biomolecules, ii) Brownian dynamics of diffusion-reaction of macromolecules, iii) Biological long-range electron transfer, iv) protein-protein interactions.
resume / curriculum vitae
snorthrup
user
Chad Rezsnyak
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. University at Buffalo (Inorganic chemistry); B.S. SUNY Cortland (Chemistry)
contact info
crezsnyak@tntech.edu
Chemistry
Foster Hall (FOST) 405 / Box 5055
931-372-6282
about
Lecture and laboratory coordinator for CHEM 1110 & 1120: General Chemistry for STEM majors.
resume / curriculum vitae
CRezsnyak
user
Kathryn Rust
Instructor
contact info
KRust@tntech.edu
Chemistry
Foster Hall (FOST) 316 / Box 5055
931-372-3423
user
Sandra Stanton
Administrative Associate 3
contact info
SStanton@tntech.edu
Chemistry
Foster Hall (FOST) 219 / Box 5055
931-372-3184
user
Daniel Swartling
Associate Professor
contact info
DSwart@tntech.edu
Chemistry
Foster Hall (FOST) 404 / Box 5055
931-372-3431
additional assignment
Faculty Advisor, Student Members of the American Chemical Society. Faculty Advisor, Tennessee Tech Quidditch Club.
user
Thomas Turner
Advisor
M.A. Higher Education Administration-2007, M.S. Geography-1999 (Both at Minnesota State University)
contact info
TLTurner@tntech.edu
Advisement Services
Foster Hall (FOST) 321 / Box 5193
931-372-6326
about
Courses taught: Geography of Disease, Biogeography, World Regional Geography, Crime Mapping, Cultural Geography, Geographic Information Systems, and College success. I have advised college students for over 15 years and Directed an Academic Assistance and Success Office for 5 of those years. I have lived in Belgium, Netherlands, England, Greece (where the picture was taken at an outdoor cafe) and France. I served in the US Air Force as an Information Intelligence Officer, and hiked Mt. Vesuvius three times! life is about knowing what you want, working toward achieving it, and sharing your experiences along the way.
user
Martha Wells

contact info
MJMWells@tntech.edu
/ Box
user
Xuanzhi Zhan
Assistant Professor
Ph. D. Auburn University 2008
contact info
XZhan@tntech.edu
Chemistry
Foster Hall (FOST) 303 / Box 5055
931-372-3427
about
I am interested in understanding the mechanisms of arrestin-mediated signaling. My group will place a strong emphasis on reconstructing the interested pathways with purified proteins. A combination of biochemical, biophysical and bioanalytical approaches will be employed to explore the dynamic movements, post-translational modifications, and protein-protein interactions in these signaling pathways.
resume / curriculum vitae
xzhan
user
Hong Zhang
Professor
contact info
HZhang@tntech.edu
Chemistry
Foster Hall (FOST) 221 / Box 5055
931-372-6325