College of Arts and Sciences

Seminar Series - Fall 2018

Seminars are held in Foster Hall, Room 220 on Thursdays and Fridays at 3:30pm unless otherwise indicated. Please email Lisa Norsworthy (lnorsworthy@tntech.edu) for more information


Date Presenter Topic
Friday, September 7  Dr. Dale Ensor, TTU Emeritus Professor

The Road to Trinity Site: Project Y and the Manhattan Project

Friday, September 14 Dr. Jens Meiler, Vanderbilt University

Computer-Aided Drug Design at Vanderbilt University

Friday, September 21 Dr. Peng Wang, Georgia State University*** Speaker cancelled - will reschedule later this semester
Friday, September 28 Dr. Chuck Feigerle, University of Tennessee

Nanocrystalline Diamond as Stripper Foils in the Spallation Neutron Source
Friday, October 5 Dr. Steven Kass, University of Minnesota (Twin-Cities)

Enzymes catalyze biochemical transformations by exploiting multiple hydrogen bond interactions and electrophilically activating targeted substrates towards nucleophilic attack

Friday, October 19 Dr. Sixue Zhang, Southern ResearchFrom Silico to Mice: Computer-Aided Design of Glucose Transporter Inhibitors as Anti-Cancer Drug
Tuesday, October 23 @ 4pm Faranak Mahmoudi, TTU PhD StudentThesis Seminar: TBD
Thursday, October 25 Amy Ridings, TTU Master's Student

Thesis Seminar: Computational Chemistry: Molecular Structural Studies with Applications from Recycling Spent Nuclear Fuel to Early Drug Development

Friday, October 26 Dr. Richard Dluhy, University of Alabama (Birmingham) TBD
Thursday, November 1 Emmanuel Ogunkunle, TTU Master's Student Thesis Seminar: TBD
Thursday, November 8 Dylan Gardner, TTU Master's Student
Madison Talley, TTU Master's Student
Literature Seminar: TBD
Friday, November 9 Dr. Tim Snowden, University of Alabama (Tuscaloosa) TBD
Thursday, November 15 Florence Fabunmi, TTU Master's Student Literature Seminar: TBD
Thursday, November 29 Emmanuel Ogunkunle, TTU Master's Student Discussing his summer internship