Communication Organizations

Communication organizations are open to majors and non-majors.

Eagle Eye

Eagle Eye is an award-winning magazine published in the fall and spring semesters. Current and previous editions may be found at Issuu.

Eagle View Productions

Eagle View Productions creates original content for broadcast and the web. Subscribe to its YouTube channel.

Public Relations Club

Public Relations Club is composed of students who want to gain experience in organizing and promoting campus and community events for a positive impact. Students help sponsor events each semester. For more information, contact Dr. Brenda Wilson at brendawilson@tntech.edu

Society for Collegiate Journalists

For more information, contact Dr. Russ Witcher at rwitcher@tntech.edu. 

Speech and Debate Team

The award-winning speech and debate team travels to various universities to compete. Students gain experience in public speaking, a fundamental part of the Communication Studies program. For more information, contact the following coaches:

Jacob Metz, jmetz@tntech.edu, 931-372-6797, HEND 002C
Dr. Graham Kash, gkash@tntech.edu, 931-372-3314, HEND 318A
Dr. Bettye Kash, bkash@tntech.edu 

The team holds showcase debates throughout the semester and encourages the Tech community to attend. A recent showcase discussed whether individuals who are famous for seemingly no reason (ex. the Kardashians, Paris Hilton, etc.) ought to be idolized. The team and attendees reflected on the social effects of such fandom.

Follow the team on Facebook

The Oracle

The student-run newspaper is published the fall and spring semesters on Tuesday.  Stories are posted on The Oracle's website, www.tntechoracle.com, and on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

The Eagle Yearbook

The yearbook is published in the spring in hardback format. It features students, faculty,  staff, and campus life. To purchase a copy, contact Eva Dingwall at 931-372-3060 or at edingwall@tntech.edu

WTTU 88.5 FM "The Nest"

WTTU is the student radio station and Cookeville's only alternative radio station. Tune to 88.5 FM or livestream it. 

DJ and radio host spots are open to students, faculty, and staff. Mandatory training sessions are offered in the fall and spring to cover basic radio etiquette and Federal Communications Commission regulations. Contact Eva Dingwall at 931-372-3060 or at edingwall@tntech.edu for the training schedule.

 

Experience Tech For Yourself

Visit us to see what sets us apart.

Schedule Your Visit