Department of History

Faculty & Staff

Jeffery Roberts, Professor / History Department Chair

Phone: 931-372-3365 | Email: jjroberts@tntech.edu | Office: Henderson Hall 118A

20th Century Europe, Russia, Middle East, Methods | PhD The Ohio State University (1990); AB Cornell University (1981)

Faculty Athletics Representative. District Leadership Academy Instructor, Rotary District 6780. Outstanding Honors Faculty Award, 1995-1996; Outstanding Faculty Award for Professional Service, 1997-1998; Al Sumberg Award (for lobbying efforts), AAUP, 2001. The Origins of Conflict in Afghanistan, 2003. Award for Excellence in University 1020 Instruction, 2012-2013. Faculty Senate President, 2010-2012. Tennessee University Faculty Senates (TUFS) President 2014-2015.

Amy Foster, Administrative Associate 3

Phone: 931-372-3332 | Email: afoster@tntech.edu | Office: Henderson Hall 118



Faculty Profiles

Michael E. Birdwell, Professor

Phone: 931-372-3356 | Email: birdie@tntech.edu | Office: Henderson Hall 116C

Tennessee, Film, Cultural, World War One | PhD University of Tennessee (1996); BA Tennessee Tech University (1985)

Consultant for CMT, Warner Bros., HGTV, PBS, CSPAN, The History Channel, and A&E. Chair of National Register Review Board for Tennessee. Curator, Alvin C. York Papers. Co-producer, The Showman and the Hero, 2014. Invited presenter, "The Holocaust and Memory," Yad Vashem, Israel, 2009. Co-editor, Rural Life and Culture in the Upper Cumberland, 2005. Oxford Society of Scholars, 2002. Celluloid Soldiers, 1999.


Philip Davis, Instructor

Phone: 931-372-3333 | Email: pdavis@tntech.edu | Office: Henderson Hall 7

American History | MA Wake Forest University (1994); BA College of William and Mary (1989)


Kent Dollar, Professor

Phone: 931-372-6547 | Email: kdollar@tntech.edu | Office: Henderson Hall 116D

Civil War, Early Republic, Colonial, Methods | PhD University of Tennessee (2001) ; MA Mississippi College (1994); BA University of Southern Mississippi (1986)

Soldiers of the Cross, Confederate Soldier-Christians and the Impact of the War on their Faith, 2005. co-editor, Sister States, Enemy States, the Civil War in Kentucky and Tennessee, 2009. Border Wars: The Civil War in Tennessee and Kentucky, 2015. Outstanding Faculty Teaching Award, 2012-2013. Arts and Sciences Research and Creative Activity Award, 2010-2011.


Allen Driggers, Assistant Professor

Phone: 931-372-3335 | Email: edriggers@tntech.edu | Office: Henderson Hall 116B

History of Science, England | PhD University of South Carolina (2015); BA North Carolina State University (2008); PodCast: History of Medicine


Paula Hinton, Associate Professor

Phone: 931-372-3339 | Email: phinton@tntech.edu | Office: Henderson Hall 112

Women’s History, Gender, Social, Crime | PhD Miami Univeristy (2001); MA Purdue University (1993); BA Virginia Weslyan College (1991)

Chair, Women and Gender Studies Coordinating Committee. President, Board of Directors, Putnam County Humane Society. Faculty Head, Crawford Living and Learning Village. Outstanding Faculty Award for Service, 2007. Outstanding Honors Faculty Award, 2008. Administrative Council Chair, 2005-2007. Best Practices Citation, Center for Education Policy Research, 2006. Belle Gunness, forthcoming.


Susan Laningham, Professor

Phone: 931-372-6254 | Email: slaningham@tntech.edu | Office: Henderson Hall 116A

Ancient, Medieval, Renaissance & Reformation, Mexico | PhD University of Arkansas (2001); BA John Brown University (1991)

Chapter Advisor, Phi Alpha Theta. Faculty Advisor, Mortar Board. NEH Summer Institute "The Medieval Mediterranean," 2008. Academic Council Chair, 2009. World Cultures and Business Executive Council. Organized the first departmental course (and four of the first six) to include an overseas travel component. Autobiography and Letters of a Spanish Nun, 2017. Honors Council Executive Committee.


Elizabeth Propes, Associate Professor

Phone: 931-372-3616 | Email: epropes@tntech.edu | Office: Henderson Hall 104

France, Modern Europe, China, Africa, Methods | PhD University of Mississippi (2003); MA University of Illinois (1997); BA University of Mississippi (1995)

Faculty Advisor, History Club. Administrative Council and Faculty Senate. CAS Curriculum Committee. Walter Craddock Paper Prize for best paper in European/Middle East/Asian History, Southwestern Historical Association, 2013. Silberman Seminar, 2011, and Hess Seminar, 2009, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. China/Korea Institute at East-West Center (Honolulu), 2011.


Troy Smith, Assistant Professor

Phone: 931-372-6297 | Email: tdsmith@tntech.edu | Office: Henderson Hall 110

Native American History, Environmental | PhD University of Illinois (2011); BA Tennessee Tech University (2004)

Advisor, TTU College Democrats. Advisory Board, The Long Civil War Digital Archive, Alexander Street Press. Judge, Western Writers of America Spur Awards- Best Biography, 2013 and 2014. President, TTU chapter of the AAUP, 2013-2014. Board of Directors, Standing Stone American Indian Cultural Center, 2012-2014. President, Western Fictioneers Writers’ Organization, 2012-2014. Director, Foxleaf Writers’ Workshop.


Emeritus Faculty

William Brinker, wbrinker@tntech.edu | PhD Indiana University (1973)

Calvin Dickinson, cdickinson@tntech.edu | PhD University of North Carolina (1967)

Gilbert Fernandez, gfernandez@tntech.edu | PhD Florida State University (1974)

Wali Kharif, wrkharif@tntech.edu | PhD Florida State University (1983)

William Schrader, PhD Catholic University (1972)

George Webb, gwebb@tntech.edu | PhD University of Arizona (1978)

Larry Whiteaker, lwhiteaker@tntech.edu | PhD Princeton University (1977)