Department of Mathematics

Student Organizations & Opportunities

Mathematics Club

Have an interest in math? Join the math club! We are trying to increase membership and interest in math, so if you have an interest in math or think you might like it, join us! Just show up at any of our events or meetings, and let one of our officers know you would like to join. You can also email our faculty advisor Dr. Richard Le Borne, or another officer. You can also stop by the Mathematics Department office located in Bruner Hall room 235 and see Patsy. The dues are only $5 and you don't have to be a math major to join. It's open to anyone who is interested in math and having a fun time with math minded individuals.

The officers for the 2018-2019 academic year are:

President: Riley Robinson

Vice President: Jessica Prince

Secretary: Brendan Roberts

Treasurer: Brelyn Grant


The next scheduled meeting for the Math Club will be on Tuesday, September 4, 2018 at 11:00am in Bruner Hall 127.


The Math Club held a Pre-Pi Day event on Tuesday, March 13, 2018, and six faculty (Andrew Hetzel, Mark Rogers, Brian O'Connor, Lukun Zheng, Amy Chambers, and Sam Narimetla) participated to potentially get a pie in the face. The honor of getting the pie in the face was Dr. Brian O'Connor.  The lucky Joseph Maldonado (center behind Dr. O'Connor) won the right to throw the pie.

Constitution of the Mathematics Club of Tennessee Tech

Article I - Name

This club shall be known as the Mathematics Club of Tennessee Technological University.

Article II - Purpose

Section 1.   

To stimulate interest in mathematics and allied subjects.

Section 2.     

To provide a meeting place for students and faculty interested in mathematics and to bring before this group topics of interest in this field which cannot readily be included in the regular classroom instruction.

Article III - Membership

Section 1.   

This club is open to any student or faculty member of Tennessee Technological University who shows an interest in mathematics.

Section 2.

Only those members who pay the club dues shall have voting privileges.

Article IV - Officers

Section 1.      

The elective offers shall be: President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasures, and at least one faculty sponsor. All the officers shall be dues-paid members of the organization. The control of this club shall be vested in the membership.

Section 2.

The duties of the President shall be as follows:

Preside over all meetings.

Represent the club in dealings with the rest of the University and the general public.

Appoint any committee necessary, subject to the approval of the membership.

Exercise any other necessary power in accordance with parliamentary rules.

Section 3.

The duties of the Vice-President shall be as follows:

Preside in the absence of the President, having all the authority of that office.

Act as chairperson of the program committee.

Section 4.

The duties of the Secretary shall be as follows:

Keep a permanent record of all meetings.

Conduct all correspondence as is required of the office.

See that the records of this organizations are properly kept on file.

Prepare an annual report in accordance with University regulations.

Section 5.

The duties of the Treasurer shall be as follows:

Collect all dues and assessments.

Keep an accurate record of the financial state of the club, and be prepared to report on same at the meetings of the club.

Prepare an annual financial report in accordance with University regulations.

Article V - Meetings

Section 1.

This club shall meet monthly according to the majority vote of the club.

Section 2.

Special meetings may be called by the President.

Section 3.

The rules of all meetings shall follow Robert's Rules of Order.

Article VI - Financial

Section 1.    

The dues and/or assessments shall be set by a majority vote of the club members and be properly recorded in the club minutes.

Section 2.

In the event that this organization becomes inactive or defunct, all money in the treasury will be given to the Mathematics Department of Tennessee Technological University.

Article VII - Amendments


All amendments to this constitution must be presented to members in writing at a regular meeting of the club and must be passed by a three-fourths vote of the members present and voting at the next regular meeting of the club.

Section 2.

The amendments shall be introduced by the author of the same.

Article VIII - Elections


Officers shall be elected by the club membership during the Spring Semester and shall take office at that time and shall preside for one academic year.

Section 2.

At the meeting during Spring Semester when elections are held, a count shall be made of the eligible voting members present and from that number the majority shall be determined. Nominations shall then be open to the house.

Section 3.

All officers shall be elected by a majority vote. If, upon the first ballot, no candidate had been chosen by a majority, the two highest candidates shall be nominees for a second ballot.

Section 4.

The President or faculty sponsor shall call a special election to fill all vacancies which may occur at any time.

Article IX - Activation

This constitution shall supersede all previous constitutions and shall take effect upon the approval of three-fourths of the members present and voting at the meeting following the presentation of said constitution.


The procedure of each meeting shall be as follows:

Reading of the minutes

Treasurer's report (if any)

Old Business

New Business

Report of committees (if any)



Integration Bee

A great big thanks goes out to the TTU Math Club Officers, Math Department Faculty, our sponsors Progressive Savings Bank and F & M Bank, for making the 2018 Integration Bee a great success.  The Integration Bee was held Wednesday, March 28th at 5:30 p.m. in Bruner Hall 119.  After all the rounds were completed and eliminations were made, the winners were announced. The 2018 winners are: 1st place of $125: David Garber - Math Major; 2nd place of $75: Jacob Escue - Math Major; and 3rd place of $50: Gabriel Threet - Chemical Engineering Major. 

In past years competitions, with the support of First Tennessee Bank, the TTU Department of Mathematics staged the Integration Bee.  Listed below are past year winners.

 Past Winners:
2013 - 1st: Richard Vradenburgh; 2nd: Jared Davis; 3rd: Hieu Pham and Benjamin Rentschler
2012 - 1st: Joshua Hogancamp; 2nd: Joshua Pyle; 3rd: Erin Ekart
2011 - 1st: Joshua Hogancamp; 2nd: Jay Hannan; 3rd: Joshua Pyle and Ben Stevens
2010 - 1st: Seok-Jung Yoon; 2nd: Shun Chu Yang; 3rd: Joshua Pyle and Stephen Graves
2009 - 1st: Joshua Hogancamp; 2nd: Ryan Pavlovsky; 3rd: Alan Longcoy
2008 - 1st: Chirsty Bowers; 2nd: Aaron Hogancamp; 3rd: Seth Pemberton
2007 - 1st: Aaron Hogancamp; 2nd: Eric Weber; 3rd: Brent Smith
2006 - 1st: Williamson Stevenson; 2nd: Michelle Dancsecs; 3rd: Shane Shamanur
2005 - 1st: Patrick O'Malley; 2nd: Jason Knight; 3rd: Christopher Pulley
2004 - 1st: Corey Cooke; 2nd: Alam McCormick; 3rd: Anna Ablamowicz
2003 - 1st: Drew Schmidt; 2nd: Justin King; 3rd: Blake Edmonson

Co-curricular Activities

Students are offered an opportunity to join the Kappa Mu Epsilon, our Mathematics Club, and a new Problem Solving Group. They are invited to participate in departmental seminars, invited lectures, paper presentations, etc.. Interested students are encouraged to participate in the Mathematical Contest in Modeling sponsored by the Consortium for Mathematics and Its Applications, Putnam Exam, and other competitions.