ttu logo

tennessee technological university

Sociology and Political Science

Our Winners

Senior Award in Political Science

  • 2010-11 Macey Gurley
  • 2008-09 Kristina Hortert
  • 2007-08 Kyle Ochsenbein
  • 2006-07 Joseph Cade Morgan

Paul G. Stephenson Scholarship

  • 2010-11 Matthew Cowan
  • 2008-09 Taylor J. Askew & Teresa L. Craig
  • 2007-08 Theodore Engel & Kristina Hortert
  • 2006-07 Tara Bates

Descriptions and Requirements:

Senior Award in Political Science

An award presented to a Political Science major with senior classification who demonstrates excellence in their academic career at TTU. Recipients receive a cash award and a certificate. The Senior Award for Political Science is considered the department's highest award for political science majors.

For more information contact: Dr. Lori Maxwell

The Paul G. Stephenson Scholarship Endowment

Paul Stephenson, first chairperson of Political Science, is considered a "quiet institution" by the faculty, who established an endowment in his honor. Stephenson, retired, joined the faculty in 1964, the same year TTU began offering a major in Political Science.

The scholarship is awarded to a Political Science major at the end of his/her junior year.


  • Must be a full-time student majoring in POLS
  • Will normally have the highest overall GPA of any Political Science major at the end of his/her junior year.
  • May receive additional consideration for other factors such as extracurricular activities and financial needs.