## MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC COUNCIL TENNESSEE TECH UNIVERSITY March 8, 2023

The Academic Council met at 3:35 p.m. on Wednesday, March 8, 2023 via Teams videoconferencing technology, with Professor Kimberly Winkle, Chairperson, presiding.

## The following members of the council were present:

Dr. Thomas Payne	Dr. Ann Manginelli
Dr. Kumar Yelamarthi	Dr. Emily Lee
Dr. Jennifer Shank	Dr. Matt Langford
Dr. Lisa Zagumny	Ms. April Crockett
Dr. Darron Smith	Dr. Troy Smith
Dr. Lee Ann Shipley	Dr. Linda Null
Dr. Troy Brachey	Dr. Brian O'Connor
Dr. Sean Alley	Dr. Jennifer Meadows
Dr. Hyewon Park	Dr. Katherine Hermann-Turner
Dr. Melissa Comer	Dr. Amber Spears
Dr. Syed Rafay Hasan	Mr. Jacob Cherry
Professor Drew Sisk	Ms. Mariam Abbas

### Others present were

Dr. Sharon Huo Ms. Karen Lykins

Dr. Stephen Canfield Dr. Christopher Reames

Dr. Lori Bruce	Dr. Jeremy Wendt
Dr. Bedelia Russell	Dr. Allen MacKenzie
Dr. Mark Stephens	Dr. Barbara Jared
Dr. Carl Pinkert	

## The following members of the council were absent:

The felle will manne of the common were mesended		
_	Dr. Russell Witcher	
Dr. Jeff Roberts	Ms. Stephanie Adams	
Dr. Mike Gotcher	Dr. Lenly Weathers	
Dr. Dennis Fennewald	Mr. James Rankin	
Dr. Lori Maxwell	Ms. Lindsey Taylor	
Dr. Christy Killman		

#### **SUMMARY OF PROCEEDINGS**

Approval of the Agenda

Approval of the Minutes from the February 1, 2023 Meeting

Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering

Addition of New Minor – Electrical & Computer Engineering

Whitson-Hester School of Nursing

Addition of Post-Graduate Certificate: Nursing Education

Department of Curriculum & Instruction

Certificate Name Change: Online Teaching & Design

Department of Curriculum & Instruction

Elevation & Name Change for MA in Educational Technology

Policy 206: Faculty Promotion (First Reading)

Such other Matters

Adjournment

#### Approval of the Agenda

Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Darron Smith SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

### Approval of the Minutes from the February 1, 2023 Meeting

Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Darron Smith SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

# Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering Addition of New Minor – Electrical & Computer Engineering

Dr. Allen MacKenzie stated the critical role of electrical and computer systems in all modern systems should make this minor attractive to students in other engineering disciplines as well as other students with appropriate prerequisite knowledge (which is mathematics through MATH 1920: Calculus II and CSC 1300: Introduction to Problem Solving and Computer Programming). The minor is also designed for completion by students in the Bachelor of Science in Music program with an interest in live audio. Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Darron Smith SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

# Whitson-Hester School of Nursing Addition of Post-Graduate Certificate: Nursing Education

Dr. Barbara Jared stated one of the contributing factors for the national nursing shortage is a deficit in qualified nursing faculty to support nursing programs. This is an issue at every level of nursing: vocational (LPN), community colleges (Associates) and universities (BSN, MSN, DNP, PhD). In addition, health care facilities are seeking nurses' educators to maintain clinical education expectations for nursing staff in their facilities. Providing an opportunity for nurses who currently hold a Master's of Science of Nursing degree to gain formal education and certification as a Nurse Educator is a positive move in promoting nursing education in both the

classroom and clinical setting. Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Darron Smith SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

# Department of Curriculum & Instruction Certificate Name Change: Online Teaching & Design

Dr. Jeremy Wendt stated the educational technology concentration at Tennessee Tech has been in place for ten years, but the nature of educational technology has shifted greatly, creating a need for updated programming and new innovations in education and industry. The certificate will now serve several areas of emphasis focusing on instructional design. The skillset obtained within this updated certificate is highly sought after in industry, education, and government. Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Darron Smith SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

# Department of Curriculum & Instruction Elevation & Name Change for MA in Educational Technology

Dr. Jeremy Wendt stated the Department of Curriculum & Instruction proposes the creation of a stand-alone graduate degree from a current concentration. The M.A. in "Curriculum & Instruction with a concentration in Educational Technology" would transition to the M.A. in "Learning Design, Innovation, & Technology." Changes in educational climate, career-driven pathways, and technology needs have driven the request. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Darron Smith SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

#### **Policy 206: Faculty Promotion (First Reading)**

Dr. Stephens presented and thanked the faculty group who met to work on the revision: Linda Null, Jennifer Meadows, Mary Lou Fornehed, Tom Timmerman and Doug Talbert. Stephens stated the group also worked on the procedures and forms. Stephens pointed out that many of the changes were editorial and brought the policy in alignment with the structure that was used in the Tenure Policy 205, which was revised two years ago. Stephens stated another goal in the revision of the policy was to clarify the process for promotion of tenured instructors and lecturers. Tenured instructors now have a new career ladder that mirrors the lecturers career ladder. Stephens noted there was clarification on peers, because it could be different from the Tenure Policy if someone was going up for tenure versus promotion so now there is a clear statement on who the peers are. Stephens pointed out that the Directors at the Center for Excellence in the College of Engineering had changed. Their status previously was administrative and they were not considered as peers and now they had been moved to faculty and were eligible to be considered as peers. Stephens noted that Section IX, the Appeal of Promotion Decisions, was the most substantial change to the current policy, the appeal process is now mirrored to the Tenure Policy appeal process. Stephens noted there were fairly strict time limits for the appeal process and suggested that under section IX.6, the time for the decision letter from the President be extended from 60 business days to 90 business days from the appellant's filing the letter of intent to appeal, absent good cause. Stephens also stated there was some modification on degrees considered terminal for Tennessee Tech.

#### **Such other Matters**

Professor Kimberly Winkle reminded the council that the committee reports are due by March 24<sup>th</sup>. Also, the council will elect a new chairperson at the April 12<sup>th</sup> meeting.

## Adjournment

Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Matt Langford SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Meeting adjourned at 4:20 p.m.

APPROVAL April 12, 2023

Amy McCoy, Recorder

Documents on file with the minutes: All documents presented at the meeting