## MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC COUNCIL TENNESSEE TECH UNIVERSITY September 7, 2022

The Academic Council met at 3:35 p.m. on Wednesday, September 7, 2022 via Teams videoconferencing technology, with Professor Kimberly Winkle, Chairperson, presiding.

The following members of the council were present:

Dr. Thomas Payne Dr. Kumar Yelamarthi Dr. Jeff Roberts Dr. Jennifer Shank Dr. Mike Gotcher Dr. Lisa Zagumny Dr. Darron Smith Dr. Lee Ann Shipley Dr. Dennis Fennewald Dr. Lori Maxwell Dr. Sean Alley Dr. Hyewon Park Dr. Melissa Comer Dr. Syed Rafay Hasan Dr. Christopher Reames

Others present were: Dr. Sharon Huo Dr. Mark Stephens Dr. Bedelia Russell Dr. Jennifer Taylor Ms. Karen Lykins

The following members of the council were absent: Dr. Troy Brachey Dr. Christy Killman Dr. Stephen Canfield Dr. Emily Lee Ms. Mariam Abbas Mr. Austin Wattenbarger

Prof. Drew Sisk Dr. Russell Witcher Dr. Ann Manginelli Dr. Matt Langford Ms. Stephanie Adams Dr. Troy Smith Dr. Linda Null Ms. April Crockett Dr. Brian O'Connor Dr. Katherine Hermann-Turner Dr. Jennifer Meadows Dr. Lenly Weathers Dr. Amber Spears Mr. Jacob Cherry Mr. James Rankin

# SUMMARY OF PROCEEDINGS

Approval of the Agenda Approval of the Minutes from the April 13, 2022 Meeting Approval of TTU Policy 706 (Research Center's Policy) Such other Matters Adjournment

## Approval of the Agenda

Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Troy Smith SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

### Approval of the Minutes from the April 13, 2022 Meeting

Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Ms. Stephanie Adams SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

### **Approval of TTU Policy 706 (Research Center's Policy)**

A friendly amendment was made to add Academic Council for review in Section II. Also, in section VI., paragraph three will be moved to paragraph one. Lastly, the first sentence in section VII., will be deleted. Dr. Jennifer Taylor stated that Research Centers can be within a specific College or be University-wide if they involve faculty and resources from multiple Colleges or units, provided they are approved by the dean(s) of the Colleges involved and then by the President and Vice President for Research in consultation with and agreement of the Provost. They report to the appropriate Dean or the Vice-President for Research. As official units of Tennessee Tech, all Research Centers must develop and utilize transparent processes of governance and review. After much discussion, Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Darron Smith SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Such other Matters There were no such other matters.

#### Adjournment

Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Darron Smith SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Meeting adjourned at 4:03 p.m.

APPROVAL October 5, 2022

Amy McCoy, Recorder

Documents on file with the minutes: All documents presented at the meeting