# MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC COUNCIL TENNESSEE TECH UNIVERSITY March 6, 2024

The Academic Council met at 3:30 p.m. on Wednesday, March 6, 2024 via Teams videoconferencing technology, with Professor Kimberly Winkle, presiding.

## The following members of the council were present:

Dr. Thomas Payne

Dr. Kumar Yelamarthi

Dr. Jeff Roberts (Dr. Allan Mills proxy)

Dr. Jennifer Shank

Dr. Lisa Zagumny

Dr. Darron Smith

Dr. Dennis Fennewald

Dr. Mark Creter

Dr. Brian O'Connor

Dr. Sean Alley

Dr. Hyewon Park

Dr. Melissa Comer

Dr. Christy Killman

Dr. Syed Rafay Hasan

Dr. Christopher Reames

Dr. Scott Christen

Dr. Ann Manginelli

### Others present were:

Dr. Lori Bruce

Dr. Bedelia Russell

Dr. Julie Baker

Dr. Sharon Huo

Dr. Chris Wilson

Dr. Jennifer Mabry Dr. Matt Langford Ms. Megan Atkinson

Dr. Troy Smith Dr. Linda Null Ms. April Crockett

Dr. Brenda Wilson

Dr. Mustafa Rajabali Dr. Krystal Kennedy

Dr. Lenly Weathers

Ms. Amber Spears

Ms. Claire Myers

# The following members of the council were absent:

Dr. Mike Gotcher

Dr. Lee Ann Shipley

Dr. Stephen Canfield

Ms. Lindsey Taylor

Mr. Eli Anderson

Ms. Reece Edwards

### SUMMARY OF PROCEEDINGS

Approval of the Agenda

Approval of the Minutes from the January 31, 2024 Meeting

General and Basic Engineering Change of Admissions Requirements for Basic Engineering (BE)

Other Such Matters

Adjournment

#### Approval of the Agenda

Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Sean Alley SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

## Approval of the Minutes from the January 31, 2024 Meeting

Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Darron Smith SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

## General and Basic Engineering Change of Admissions Requirements for Basic Engineering (BE)

Dr. Chris Wilson stated previously, GBE had requested to change the admissions requirements for the Basic Engineering (BE) After several discussions with Admissions and Credit Committee, the purpose of the changes in admissions requirements for BE was determined to be difficult to implement. Therefore, this memo requests that that the change in admissions be reverted to the former admissions requirements which matched the College of Engineering admissions. After much discussion, Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Darron Smith SECONDED. APPROVED.

#### **Other Such Matters**

Professor Kimberly Winkle notified the committee that election of a new Chairperson will be discussed at the next meeting.

#### Adjournment

Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Darron Smith SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Meeting adjourned at 4:15 p.m.

Amy McCoy, Recorder

Documents on file with the minutes: All documents presented at the meeting

APPROVAL April 10, 2024