MINUTES OF THE ACADEMIC COUNCIL TENNESSEE TECH UNIVERSITY

November 8, 2023

The Academic Council met at 3:30 p.m. on Wednesday, November 8, 2023 via Teams videoconferencing technology, with Professor Kimberly Winkle, presiding.

The following members of the council were present:

Dr. Thomas Payne
Dr. Jeff Roberts
Dr. Mike Gotcher
Dr. Lisa Zagumny
Dr. Darron Smith
Dr. Dennis Fennewald
Dr. Mark Creter
Dr. Brian O'Connor

Dr. Sean Alley Dr. Hyewon Park Dr. Melissa Comer

Dr. Stephen Canfield Dr. Christopher Reames

Dr. Ann Manginelli Dr. Jennifer Mabry

Others present were:

Dr. Lori Bruce

Dr. Sharon Huo Dr. Bedelia Russell

Dr. Julie Baker

Ms. Karen Lykins

Dr. Sabrina Buer

Dr. Melinda Anderson

Dr. Jeanette Luna

Dr. Michael Allen

Dr. Matt Langford Ms. Megan Atkinson Dr. Troy Smith Dr. Linda Null Ms. April Crockett

Dr. Brenda Wilson Dr. Mustafa Rajabali Dr. Krystal Kennedy Ms. Amber Spears

Ms. Pooja Patel (Proxy for Ms. Claire Myers)

The following members of the council were absent:

Dr. Kumar Yelamarthi

Dr. Jennifer Shank

Dr. Lee Ann Shipley

Dr. Christy Killman

Dr. Syed Rafay Hasan

Dr. Scott Christen

Dr. Lenly Weathers

Ms. Lindsey Taylor

Mr. Eli Anderson

Ms. Reece Edwards

SUMMARY OF PROCEEDINGS

Approval of the Agenda

Approval of the Minutes from the October 4, 2023 Meeting

School of Human Ecology Deletion of Concentration

School of Human Ecology Deletion of Minors

Department of Earth Sciences Concentration Name Change

Department of Math Addition of New Concentration

School of Human Ecology Admission Requirement Change

Department of Chemical Engineering New Graduate Certificate

Recommended Changes for the Outstanding Faculty Awards Committee

Other Such Matters

Adjournment

Approval of the Agenda

Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Darron Smith SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Approval of the Minutes from the October 4, 2023 Meeting

Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Darron Smith SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

School of Human Ecology Deletion of Concentration

Dr. Melinda Anderson stated due to a declining enrollment (8 students in 2020 to 1 student in 2023) it is necessary to consider the deletion of the **Family and Consumer Sciences Education concentration**. The job market has changed drastically in recent years such that students with other teaching licenses can teach the Family and Consumer Sciences content on a waiver. After minimal discussion, Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Darron Smith SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

School of Human Ecology Deletion of Minors

Dr. Melinda Anderson stated the **Family Science Minor** has proven unsustainable due to the following reasons: lack of career specialization options for those holding a minor in Family Science, lack of faculty resources to continue offering the minor, and Financial Aid changes impacting tuition for courses constituting minors. **The Merchandising & Design Minor** has proven unsustainable due to the following reasons: lack of career specialization options for those holding a minor in Merchandising & Design, lack of faculty resources to continue offering the minor, and Financial Aid changes impacting tuition for courses constituting minors. After minimal discussion, Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Darron Smith SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Department of Earth Sciences Concentration Name Change

Dr. Jeanette Luna stated the Department of Earth Sciences proposes to change the name of the Geographic Information Systems (GIS) concentration to **Geospatial Data Analysis**. The change better describes what students are learning and accomplishing in the concentration. Moreover, the change aligns with industry terminology and job titles. After minimal discussion, Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Darron Smith SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Department of Math Addition of New Concentration

Dr. Michael Allen proposed the creation of a new concentration: **Mathematics for Secondary Education in the Mathematics B.S. Degree**. This concentration within the mathematics major prepares a student for the Job-Embedded Pathway to Teacher Licensure by getting a B.S. degree in mathematics, which provides the proof of content knowledge needed for the Job-Embedded Pathway. After minimal discussion, Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr Darron Smith SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

School of Human Ecology Admission Requirement Change

Dr. Melinda Anderson proposed changes to admission requirements in Graduate Catalog for Community Health and Nutrition Graduate program. Through 3 years of application reviews, the selection committee found that while TN Tech students take organic chemistry, microbiology, and biochemistry at the 3000/4000 level, students from other universities do not. We would like to remove this statement from the admission requirements and accept students who have had these classes at the 2000 level also. There was a Friendly Amendment added to change the wording from Fast Track to Accelerated. After minimal discussion, Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Darron Smith SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Department of Chemical Engineering New Graduate Certificate

Dr. Sabrina Buer stated the Department of Chemical Engineering offers a 13 credit-hour graduate certificate in the area of **Cultural and Interdisciplinary Training at the Food-Energy-Water Nexus**. This certificate program is designed to increase the cultural awareness and interdisciplinary training of holistic professionals working in a wide array of academic, governmental, social, and industrial settings. Students may earn this certificate as a part of an approved M.S. or Ph.D. program. **Friendly amendment was added to revise 45 clock hours to 90 hours and 1 credit hour from 15 to 30.** After minimal discussion, Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Darron Smith SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Recommended Changes for the Outstanding Faculty Awards Committee

Dr. Bedelia Russell reintroduced the policy changes that were discussed in the previous academic council meeting, which included: A minimum of three awards can be presented annually. A maximum number of awards will be designated each year by the Office of the Provost in the areas of Service and Teaching and prior to the call for nominations. Teaching awards will include award designations for early career and adjunct faculty subject to submission of qualified nominations. After minimal discussion, Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Darron Smith SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Such other Matters

There were no such other matters.

Adjournment

Dr. Lisa Zagumny MOVED approval and Dr. Darron Smith SECONDED. APPROVED unanimously.

Meeting adjourned at 4:10 p.m.

Amy McCoy, Recorder

Documents on file with the minutes: All documents presented at the meeting

APPROVAL January 31, 2024