Faculty Areas of Expertise

Chemical Engineering

  • Pedro Arce

    Chair and Professor

    P: (931) 372-3267

    E: parce@tntech.edu

    NANOSTRUCTURED MATERIALS-With Functional Performance (Health Care Engineering Applications: Hydrogels for clinical diagnostics, wound healing, math-assisted medicine, tissue scaffolds and assisted drug delivery) - MICRO- AND NANO-FLOWS in Biophysical Systems (Microcirculatory and renal system pathologies, arterial stenosis, kidney failure, etc.)- ENVIRONMENTAL CATALYSIS (Advanced oxidation in water, soil and air; photocatalytic clean energy production, electrokinetics-based remediation; battery and fuel cell materials) - ENGINEERING EDUCATION: (collaborative-, creative- and innovation-driven learning; constructionistic approaches)

  • Laura H Arias Chavez

    Assistant Professor

    P: (931) 372-3666

    E: lchavez

    Green Energy Production, Decentralized and Low Energy Water Treatment, Desalination, and Reclamation of Energy and Materials from Waste Streams. Fabrication of polymeric membranes for water treatment.

    SCOPUS AUTHOR PROFILE

  • Joseph J Biernacki

    Professor

    P: (931) 372-3367

    E: jbiernacki@tntech.edu

    Modeling of Multi-Scale Materials Systems Composite Concrete Systems

    Joseph J. Biernacki, DRE, PE, Website

  • Bahman Ghorashi

    Professor

    P: (931) 372-3324

    E: bghorashi@tntech.edu

    Blockchain Technology Applied to Chemical Industry; Agility and Agile Manufacturing - Mass Customization

  • Venkat Padmanabhan

    Assistant Professor

    P: (931) 372 3606

    E: vpadmanabhan@tntech.edu

    Self-assembly of nanoparticles in polymer matrix, polymer nanocomposite films for organic photovoltaics, and biomechanics of Caenorhabditis elegans

  • Cynthia A Rice

    Assistant Professor

    P: (931) 372-6059

    E: crice@tntech.edu

    Direct Liquid Fuel Cells: Formic acid and methanol; Freeze Dynamics for PEMFC. Cathode catalyst Durability for automotive PEMFC; Electrochemical Diagnostics

  • Robby Sanders

    Associate Professor

    P: (931) 372-2494

    E: rsanders@tntech.edu

    Bio-assay Development, Drug delivery, Wound Healing

  • Holly Stretz

    Professor

    P: (931)372-3495

    E: hstretz@tntech.edu

    Research program in interfaces in 3-D printing, high-throughput on demand manufacturing of pharmaceuticals, nanomaterials as sensors, nanocomposite water treatment membranes. Expertise in polymer nanocomposites.

  • Liqun (Laura) Zhang

    Assistant Professor

    P: (931)372-3495

    E: lzhang@tntech.edu

    Molecular simulation on biomass modified asphalt, warm mix asphalt; simulations and modeling on structure and dynamics of human beta defensin type 3, interaction with lipid membranes and receptors.

Contact Us