Faculty Areas of Expertise

Mechanical Engineering

  • Ahmed Abounassif

    Adjunct Professor

    P: (931) 372-6028

    E: aabounassif@tntech.edu

    Computational Fluid Dynamics • Eulerian Multiphase Flow Simulations • Thermodynamics • Fluids Mechanics and Heat Transfer

  • Mohammad Albakri

    Assistant Professor

    P: (931) 372-3265

    E: malbakri@tntech.edu

    Computational Mechanics • Structural Dynamics • Meta-Structures • Structural Health Monitoring •Advanced Manufacturing •Experimental Modal Testing

  • Steve Anton

    Associate Professor

    P: (931) 372-3287

    E: santon@tntech.edu

    Smart materials • Piezoelectric sensing • Structural health monitoring • Biomedical sensing • Energy harvesting • 3D printing • Robotics-based STEM education

  • Daniel Brookshear

    Instructor

    P: (931) 372-3272

    E: wbrookshear@tntech.edu

    Thermodynamics • fluids • heat transfer. Research has been with Oak Ridge National Laboratory/University of Tennessee focusing primarily on looking at and evaluating catalysts for the purpose of cleaning up automotive exhaust from gasoline and diesel engines.

  • Stephen Canfield

    Professor

    P: (931) 372-6359

    E: scanfield@tntech.edu

    Mobile Robots for Inspection • Maintenance and Manufacturing of Mobile Manipulators • Cobot (Collaborative robot) design and applications • Climbing robots • Mechatronics applications in robotics and manufacturing • Robotics for manufacturing • Design of Autonomous and semi-autonomous systems • Vehicle system mobility.

  • Pingen Chen

    Assistant Professor

    P: (931) 372-3310

    E: pchen@tntech.edu

    Modeling, diagnostics, controls, and optimizations of automotive systems including conventional/hybrid/electric powertrains, internal combustion engines, emissions control systems, sensors, autonomous vehicles, and advanced engine combustion with alternative/renewable fuels.

  • Jie Cui

    Assistant Chair and Professor

    P: (931) 372-3357

    E: jiecui@tntech.edu

    Computational Fluid Dynamics • Turbulence Modeling • Large Eddy Simulation • Numerical Heat Transfer • Thermal Fluids

  • Glenn T. Cunningham

    Associate Professor

    P: (931) 372-3826

    E: gcunningham@tntech.edu

    Energy efficiency • Balance of plant energy systems • Thermal systems

  • Tristan Hill

    Lecturer

    P: (931) 372-3774

    E: thill@tntech.edu

    Robotics • Programming • Numerical Modeling Analysis • Mechatronics • Dynamics of Machinery

  • Stephen Idem

    Professor

    P: (931) 372-3607

    E: sidem@tntech.edu

    Scale model testing • Fluid flow measurement • Thermal modeling • Fluid mechanics • Heat transfer

  • Ethan Languri

    Assistant Professor

    P: (931) 372-6790

    E: elanguri@tntech.edu

    Thermal energy storage systems • Heat transfer fluid enhancement • Evaporation in porous media • Industrial energy efficiency • Combined heat and power systems • Numerical modeling

  • Vahid Motevalli

    Professor and Associate Dean of Research and Innovation

    P: (931) 372-3172

    E: vmotevalli@tntech.edu

    Hybrid-electric vehicle systems and power- train • Combustion and fire safety • Aviation and transportation safety and security

  • Sally Pardue

    Associate Professor

    P: (931) 372-6573

    E: spardue@tntech.edu

    Random vibrations • Modal analysis • Non-destructive evaluation (NDE) • Machine design

  • Mohan Rao

    Chair and Professor

    P: (931) 372-3254

    E: mrao@tntech.edu

    Vibrations • Acoustics • Noise control • Damping design • Sound quality • Auditory engineering

  • Joseph Slater

    Dean and Professor of Mechanical Engineering

    P: (931) 372-3832

    E: jslater@tntech.edu

    Vibration of structures and machines • Aeroelasticity • Linear and Nonlinear System identification • Experimental Modal Analysis • Nonlinear Dynamics • Cyber Physical Systems • Morphing Wing Control • Turbomachinery Blade Vibration

  • Meenakshi R. Sundaram

    Professor

    P: (931) 372-3790

    E: msundaram@tntech.edu

    Product design and development • Production • Systems design and operations management • Lean manufacturing and process improvements • Economic analysis and cost justification

  • Kwun-Lon Ting

    Professor

    P: (931) 372-3230

    E: kting@tntech.edu

    Mechanism design • Kinematics • Machine design • Gearing • Robotics • Dynamics of machines

  • Ahmad Vaselbehagh

    Assistant Professor

    P: (931) 372-6468

    E: avaselbehagh@tntech.edu

    Thermal-Fluid Sciences for Energy Conversion and Storage Applications • Fluid-Structure Interactions •Turbulence

  • Christopher Wilson

    Associate Professor and Chair of General and Basic Engineering

    P: (931) 372-3216

    E: chriswislon@tntech.edu

    Composite materials testing • Materials properties • Simulation

  • Dale Wilson

    Interim Chair of Manufacturing and Engineering Technology and Professor

    P: (931) 372-3323

    E: dwilson@tntech.edu

    Fracture mechanics • Failure analysis • Machine design • MEMS • Mechanical properties of materials

  • Ying Zhang

    Professor and Director of Center for Manufacturing Research

    P: (931) 372-3969

    E: yzhang@tntech.edu

    High-temperature protective coatings for gas turbine engine applications • Materials synthesis via chemical vapor deposition/pack cementation/electrodeposition • High-temperature oxidation and corrosion

  • Jiahong (John) Zhu

    Professor

    P: (931) 372-3186

    E: jzhu@tntech.edu

    Solid oxide fuel cell • Zn-air batteries • High-temperature alloys • Processing of ceramic • Intermetallic and metallic coatings

Contact Us