College of Engineering

Student Resources

General Information

There is a wealth of resources available throughout the college and university to support the success of students within engineering. From assistance with introductory undergraduate courses to navigating graduate school, staff and faculty are here to help. Information on several key resources for students can be found on this website.

For PDF versions:

Check out our interactive Digital Signage located in every College of Engineering building for the latest information on upcoming events and more!

Check the Requirement for Entry Level Student Computers webpage for the latest information.

Find us on the web at tntech.edu/engineering also on Facebook facebook.com/TTU.College.of.Engineering, Twitter @TTU_CoE and Instagram tntech_coe

Engineering Program

The College of Engineering includes seven programs with curricula leading to the Bachelor of Science degrees in Chemical Engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Computer Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Computer Science, and Engineering Technology. As of Fall 2014, there are 2,871 undergraduates and 175 graduate engineering students at Tech.

The education of an engineer at Tech has dual major objectives; the mastery of mathematical, scientific, and professional knowledge that contributes to the various fields; and the acquisition of experience in decision making through the analysis and solution of engineering problems. An engineer must also be aware of the social, ecological, and economical concerns of society, and maintain high ethical standards of work. Senior-level classes concentrate on team design, construction, or operations while some are involved in research, development, and education. Jobs may be with governmental agencies or with privates firms. Most engineers ultimately function as managers or supervisors with some becoming CEO’s.

Many students take advantage of the Cooperative Education Program (Co-op) which allows students to integrate off-campus employment in industry or a governmental agency. Typically, a student will spend the first three semesters on campus and then rotate campus classes and off-campus work during the next several years. This provides the student with valuable practical experience and extra income.

Student Success Center

CLAY N. HIXSON STUDENT SUCCESS CENTER

Open Monday-Friday, 8AM-4:30PM, Clement Hall 208

FREE PEER TUTORING ADVISING & SUPPLEMENTAL INSTRUCTION AVAILABLE

FOR MORE INFORMATION, CALL (931) 372-3553

STUDENT ORGANIZATIONS

Choose from over 30 professional organizations.

  • Amateur Radio Society of Tennessee Tech
  • American Foundry Society
  • American Institute of Chemical Engineers
  • American Society of Civil Engineers
  • American Society of Mechanical Engineers
  • American Water Works Association
  • Association for Computing Machinery
  • Association for Computing Machinery - Women Autonomous Robotics Club
  • Aviation Society
  • Baja SAE
  • Chemical Engineering Graduate Research Association
  • Chi Epsilon
  • Cyber Defense Club
  • Engineering Joint Council
  • Engineers Without Borders
  • Eta Kappa Nu
  • Formula SAE (TTU Motorsports)
  • Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers
  • NASA Moonbuggy Association
  • National Society of Black Engineers
  • Omega Chi Epsilon
  • Pi Tau Sigma
  • Society of Automotive Engineers
  • Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers, Inc.
  • Society of Manufacturing Engineers
  • Society of Women Engineers
  • Tau Beta Pi
  • Theta Tau
  • Unix Users Group

For additional information visit our Student Organizations page.

Get Connected

Interim Dean, College of Engineering
Darrell Hoy, Ph.D. dhoy@tntech.edu
Clement Hall 201 (931) 372-3172



Assistant Dean of Academic Affairs
College of Engineering 

William (Bill) Eberle, Ph.D. engacademics@tntech.edu
Clement Hall 201 (931) 372-3172



Associate Dean of Research & Development
College of Engineering 

Vahid Motevalli, Ph.D. vmotevalli@tntech.edu
Clement Hall 201 (931) 372-3172



Director of Diversity Programs
College of Engineering 

Tony Marable tmarable@tntech.edu
Clement Hall 201 (931) 372-3172



Chair, Chemical Engineering
Pedro Arce, Ph.D. parce@tntech.edu
Prescott Hall 214 (931) 372-3267



Chair, Civil & Environmental Engineering
Benjamin Mohr, Ph.D. bmohr@tntech.edu
Prescott Hall 216 (931) 372-3454



Chair, Computer Science
Gerald C. Gannod, Ph.D. jgannod@tntech.edu 
Bruner Hall 239 (931) 372-3691



Interim Chair,Electrical & Computer Engineering
Omar Elkeelany, Ph.D. oelkeelany@tntech.edu
Brown Hall 217 (931) 372-3397



Interim Chair, General & Basic Engineering
Kristine Craven, Ph.D. kcraven@tntech.edu
Clement Hall 321 (931) 372-3175



Chair, Manufacturing & Engineering Technology
Ahmed ElSawy, Ph.D. aelsawy@tntech.edu
Lewis Hall 107A (931) 372-3263



Chair, Mechanical Engineering
Mohan Rao, Ph.D. mrao@tntech.edu
Brown Hall 224A (931) 372-3254



Director, Clay N. Hixson Student Success Center
Harry Ingle hingle@tntech.edu
Clement Hall 208 (931) 372-3553