Campus Community Health • HEERF I, II & III

Civil and Environmental Engineering

College of Engineering

Faculty and Staff Directory


Leadership


Benjamin Mohr portrait
 
Benjamin Mohr, PhD., P.E.

Chair of Civil and Environmental Engineering; Associate Professor of Construction Materials

Research Interests: Durability; microstructure; and chemistry of cement-based materials; early-age behavior of cement and concrete; fiber-reinforced concrete; supplementary cementitious materials.

931-372-3454 | bmohr@tntech.edu | Prescott Hall (PRSC) 216 | Profile
 

Professor


Dainel Badoe portrait
 
Daniel Badoe, Ph.D.

Professor, Transportation Engineering

Research Interests: Urban travel demand modeling; transportation data collection; travel behavior analysis.

931-372-3490 | dbadoe@tntech.edu | Prescott Hall (PRSC) 434 | Profile

L. Crouch portrait
 
L. Crouch, Ph.D., P.E.

Professor, Construction Materials

Research Interests: Construction materials; aggregates; portland cement concrete; flowable fill; bituminous materials.

931-372-3196 | lcrouch@tntech.edu | Prescott Hall (PRSC) 316 | Profile

R. Craig Henderson portrait
 
Craig Henderson, Ph.D., P.E.

Professor, Structural Engineering

Research Interests: Masonry; concrete and steel testing and design; structural dynamics and earthquake engineering; computational structural modeling.

931-372-3062 | chenderson@tntech.edu | Prescott Hall (PRSC) 417 | Profile

Sharon Huo Sharon Huo, Ph.D., P.E.

Associate Provost, Professor of Structural Engineering

Research Interests: Structural analysis; reinforced concrete design; prestressed concrete design; structural steel design; bridge design.

931-372-3463 | xhuo@tntech.edu | Derryberry Hall (DBRY) 204 | Profile

Y. Jane Liu
Jane Liu, Ph.D.

Professor, Structural Mechanics

Research Interests: Composite materials; vibration analysis; plates & shells; computational mechanics symbolic computer systems in engineering applications; computational algebraic geometry in nonlinear structural analysis.

931-372-3256 | jliu@tntech.edu | Prescott Hal (PRSC) l 432 | Profile

Jessica Oswalt portrait
 
 
Jessica Oswalt, Ph.D.

Professor of Civil Engineering, Emeritus

Research Interests: Engineering management including engineering economics; project management; process improvement; systems modeling.

931-372-3454 | joswalt@tntech.edu | Prescott Hall (PRSC) 349 | Profile
 

Associate Professor


Steven Click portrait
Steven Click, Ph.D., P.E.

Associate Professor, Transportation Engineering

Research Interests: Traffic signal design; timing; operations; and analysis; traffic signal system design; timing; operations; and analysis; non-traditional intersection design; operations; and analysis; non-traditional interchange design; operations; and analysis; highway traffic simulation modeling.

931-372-6464 | sclick@tntech.edu | Prescott Hall (PRSC) 350 | Profile

Tania Datta portrait
Tania Datta, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Environmental Engineering

Research Interests: Biological Wastewater Treatment Process and Design; Urban Water Quality Management; Environmental Microbiology; Resource Recovery from Organic Waste Streams; Sustainable Decision Making; Role of Microorganisms in Natural Aquatic Ecosystems.

931-372-3446 | tdatta@tntech.edu | Prescott Hall (PRSC) 333 | Profile

Alfred Kalyanapu portrait
 
Alfred Kalyanapu, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Water Resources

Research Interests: Climate impacts; computational hydraulics and hydrology; hydraulic/hydrologic modeling urban water management; regional scale flood modeling and simulation.

931-372-3561 | akalyanapu@tntech.edu | Prescott Hall (PRSC) 334 | Profile

Guillermo Ramirez portrait
 
Guillermo Ramirez, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Structural Mechanics

Research Interests: Theoretical and computational mechanics; mathematical formulation and corresponding computer implementation to describe the electro-mechanical behavior of solids under different types of environments.

931-372-3261 | gramirez@tntech.edu | Prescott Hall (PRSC) 415 | Profile

Daniel VandenBerge portrait
 
Daniel VandenBerge, Ph.D., P.E.

Associate Professor, Geotechnical Engineering

Research Interests: Rapid drawdown analysis; behavior of compacted clays; fully softened shear strength; levee seepage; dam failures; geotechnical reliability analyses; sustainable earth structures; engineering education.

931-372-3257 | dvandenberge@tntech.edu | Prescott Hall (PRSC) 332 | Profile

Lenly J. Weathers portriat
 
Lenly J. Weathers, Ph.D., P.E.

Associate Professor, Environmental Engineering

Research Interests: Transport of pollutants in the environment; transformation of chlorinated compounds; oxidized metals and other pollutants in anaerobic environments in the presence of metallic iron.

931-372-6539 | lweathers@tntech.edu | Prescott Hall (PRSC) 339 | Profile

 


Assistant Professor


Tim Huff portrait

Tim Huff, Ph.D., P.E.

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Earthquake engineering; seismic design of structures; ground motion selection and modification for structural analysis; nonlinear analysis of structures in practice; seismic isolation; bridge design.

931-372-3605 | thuff@tntech.edu | Prescott Hall (PRSC) 424 | Profile

 


Lecturer


Julia Avera portrait
 
 
 
Julia Avera, Ph.D., P.E.

Lecturer

931-372-3604 | javera@tntech.edu | Prescott Hall (PRSC) 318 | Profile

 

 


Eric James portriat

 
 
Eric James

Lecturer

931-372-3631 | ejames@tntech.edu | Prescott Hall (PRSC) 418 | Profile

 


Adjunct


Jim Waters portrait

 

 

Jim Waters
Adjunct Instructor
 
jwaters@tntech.edu | Prescott Hall (PRSC) 347 | Profile

 

 


Staff


image placeholder
 
 
 
 
Sarah Starkey

Financial Associate 6

931-372-3301 | sstarkey@tntech.edu | Prescott Hall (PRSC) 207 | Profile

Dawn Taylor
 
 
 
 
Dawn Taylor

Administrative Associate 3

931-372-3454 | dtaylor@tntech.edu | Prescott Hall (PRSC) 216 | Profile
 

Donna Walls portrait
 
 
 
 
Donna Walls

Administrative Associate 3

931-372-3455 | dwalls@tntech.edu | Prescott Hall (PRSC) 216 | Profile

 


Learn More About Our Programs

Degree Information

Top Careers

Student Success

About our department button

Questions button

Meet our faculty button