Campus Community Health • HEERF I, II & III

Electrical and Computer Engineering

College of Engineering

Faculty and Staff Directory


Leadership


Alan MacKenzie portraitAlan MacKenzie

Chair of Electrical and Computer Engineering; Professor

Research Interest: Wireless communications and networking; dynamic spectrum access systems and spectrum policy; cognitive radio and cognitive networks; applications of game theory and auction theory; error control coding.

931-372-3397 | amackenzie@tntech.edu | Brown Hall (BRWN) 217 | Profile

Professor


Ali T. Alouani, Ph.D. portraitAli T. Alouani, Ph.D.

Professor

Research Interest: Autonomous robots, Internet of Things (IoT), driverless vehicle, intelligent control systems, mechatronics systems, health monitoring, learning systems, sensor data fusion.

931-372-3383 | aalouani@tntech.edu | Brown Hall 333 | Profile | Website

Lori Bruce portrait

Lori Mann Bruce, Ph.D.

Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs; Professor

Research Interest: Remote sensing; image analysis; artificial intelligence; data analytics; hyperspectral imaging and precision agriculture.

931-372-3224 | lbruce@tntech.edu | Derryberry Hall 204 | Profile

Satish M. Mahajan, Ph.D. portrait
Satish M. Mahajan, Ph.D.

Director of the Center for Energy Systems Research (CESR); Professor

Research Interest: Optoelectronics (lasers; solar cells; optical fibers); electromagnetics; wireless charging of EVs; sensors; renewable energy.

931-372-3875 | smahajan@tntech.edu | Prescott Hall 231 | Profile

Joseph Ojo, Ph.D. portraitJoseph Ojo, Ph.D.

Professor

Research Interest: Electric machine analysis and design; adjustable; speed motor drives; power electronic convertors; control theory applied to power electronics and power systems, power systems economics and deregulation issues.

931-372-3869 | jojo@tntech.edu | Brown Hall 323 | Profile

Ghadir Radman, Ph.D. portriat
Ghadir Radman, Ph.D.

Professor

Research Interest: Smart grid; Integration of renewable energy sources; Power system operation/control.

931-372-3520 | gradman@tntech.edu | Prescott Hall 433 | Profile

Kumar Yelamarthi, Ph.D. portraitKumar Yelamarthi, Ph.D.

Associate Dean of Academic Affairs for the College of Engineering; Professor

Research Interest: Hardware assisted security; vehicular ad hoc network (VANET); security & privacy in vehicle communication; federated machine learning; engineering education.

931-372-3172 | kyelamarthi@tntech.edu | Clement Hall 201 | Profile

Associate Professor


Jeffrey Austen portrait
 
 
Jeffrey Austen, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interest: Signal processing; communication systems.

(931)372-3485 | jausten@tntech.edu | Prescott Hall 440 | Profile

 


Indranil Bhattacharya, Ph.D. portraitIndranil Bhattacharya, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interest: High-efficiency solar cells; high-energy-density sodium and lithium-ion batteries; wireless power transfer; semiconductor electronics; photonics and optics; electromagnetics.

931-372-3352 |  ibhattacharya@tntech.edu | Prescott Hall 440A | Profile | Website

J W Bruce portraitJ. W. Bruce, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interest: Data converter architectures; embedded and cyber-physical systems design; quantum computing logic systems; integration of unmanned aerial vehicles in the national airspace; engineering education.

931-372-3453 | jwbruce@tntech.edu | Prescott Hall 450 | Profile

Tarek Elfouly, Ph.D. protraitTarek Elfouly, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interest: Structural health monitoring (SHM) using wireless sensor networks (WSNs).

931-372-3847 | telfouly@tntech.edu | Brown Hall 210| Profile

 


Syed Rafay Hasan, Ph.D.Syed Rafay Hasan, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interest: Artificial intelligence for edge computing; edge intelligence; security threats in deep learning architectures; Internet of Things'; vulnerabilities against hardware based attacks; machine learning algorithms on hardware.

931-372-3462 | shasan@tntech.edu | Brown Hall 319 | Profile | Website

Mohamed Mahmoud, Ph.D. portraitMohamed Mahmoud, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interest: Security & privacy in smart grid, vehicular ad hoc network (VANET), and cloud applications.; secure/privacy-preserving machine learning models.; blockchain; cryptography and machine learning.

931-372-3677 | mmahmoud@tntech.edu | Brown Hall 331 | Profile | Website

Assistant Professor


Nan Chen, Ph.D. portrait
Nan Chen, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Research Interest: Smart grids; mobile vehicle-to-grid technique; next-generation wireless and resource management for vehicular communication.

931-372-3349 | nchen@tntech.edu | Brown Hall 334 | Profile

Syed Ali Asad Rizvi, Ph.D. portraitSyed Ali Asad Rizvi, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Research Interest: Control theory; reinforcement learning; autonomous systems; cyber-physical systems; facilities planning and material handling; freight modeling and logistics; microalloying and mechanical behavior; modern manufacturing systems; optimization and simulation modeling; production planning and control.

931-372-3450 | srizvi@tntech.edu | Prescott Hall 440B | Profile

Charles Van Neste, Ph.D. portraitCharles Van Neste, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Research Interest: Energy generation and transmission; wireless and quasi-wireless power transfer; high frequency inverter design; electronic instrumentation; electromagnetic interactions.

931-372-3682 | cvanneste@tntech.edu | Prescott Hall 407 | Profile

Lecturer


Jesse Roberts portraitJesse Roberts

Lecturer

Research Interest: Game theory and mechanism design; graph and learning theory; spiking neural networks; computational sustainability; computational creativity and criticism; automation.

931-372-3397 | jtroberts@tntech.edu | Brown Hall 111 | Profile

 


Adjunct


image placeholder

 

Corey Cooke, Ph.D.

ORNL/TN Tech Joint Faculty

ccooke@tntech.edu

Tim Dean portrait

 

 
Tim Dean, Ph.D.

Adjunct

931-520-4646 | tdean@tntech.edu | Brown Hall (BRWN) 217 | Profile
 

Staff


Trish Atkins portrait

 

 
Trish Atkins

Administrative Associate 2

931-372-3397 | tatkins@tntech.edu | Brown Hall 217 | Profile

Amanda Miller portait

 

 
Amanda Miller

Undergraduate Academic Advisor

931-372-6130 | ajmiller@tntech.edu | Clement Hall 307 | Profile

 


image placeholder

 

 

Julie Mountain

Administrative Associate 4

931-372-3398 | jmountain@tntech.edu | Brown Hall 209 | Profile

 


Conard Murray portrait

 

 

Conard Murray

Engineer

931-372-3718 | cmurray@tntech.edu | Brown Hall 414 | Profile

 

 


Learn More About Our Programs

Degree Information

Top Careers

Student Success

About our department button

Questions button

Meet our faculty button