Campus Community Health • HEERF I, II & III

Mechanical Engineering

College of Engineering

Faculty and Staff Directory


Leadership


Mohan Rao portrait
 
Mohan Rao, Ph.D.

Chair of Mechanical Engineering; Professor

Research Interests: Vibrations; acoustics; noise control; damping design; sound quality and auditory engineering.

931-372-3254 | mrao@tntech.edu | Brown Hall (BRWN) 232 | Profile

 


Jie Cui portrait

 
Jie Cui, Ph.D.

Associate Chair of Mechanical Engineering; Professor

Research Interests: Computational fluid dynamics; turbulence modeling; large eddy simulation; numerical heat transfer; thermal fluids.

931-372-3357 | jiecui@tntech.edu | Brown Hall (BRWN) 231 | Profile

 


Professor


Stephen Canfield portrait

 
Stephen Canfield, Ph.D.

Professor

Research Interests: Robotics; dynamic modeling; compliant mechanisms; smart actuators; mechatronics.

931-372-6359 | scanfield@tntech.edu | Brown Hall (BRWN) 304 | Profile

 


Stephen Idem portraitStephen Idem, Ph.D.

Professor

Research Interests: Scale model testing; fluid flow measurement; thermal modeling; fluid mechanics; heat transfer.

931-372-3607 | sidem@tntech.edu | Brown Hall (BRWN) 308 | Profile

 


Joseph C. Slater portrait
Joseph C. Slater, Ph.D., P.E.

Dean of the College of Engineering; Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Research Interests: Vibration of structures and machines; aeroelasticity; linear and nonlinear system identification; experimental modal analysis; nonlinear dynamics; cyber physical systems; morphing wing control; turbomachinery blade vibration.

931-372-3172 | jslater@tntech.edu | Clement Hall (CLEM) 201 | Profile

Ying Zhang portrait
 
Ying Zhang, Ph.D.

Director of the Center for Manufacturing Research; Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Research Interests: Protective coatings; high-temperature materials; thermal barrier coatings (TBC); chemical vapor deposition (CVD).

931-372-3969 | yzhang@tntech.edu | Prescott Hall (PRSC) | Profile

Jiahong Zhu portrait

 
Jiahong Zhu, Ph.D.

Professor

Research Interests: Solid oxide fuel cell; high-temperature materials; coatings; environmental effects in advanced materials; intermetallics.

931-372-3186 | jzhu@tntech.edu | Brown Hall (BRWN) 116 | Profile

Associate Professor


Steven Anton portraitSteven Anton, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Energy harvesting; smart materials; piezoelectric sensing; biomedical sensing; robotics-based stem education; structural health monitoring; 3D printing.

931-372-3287 | santon@tntech.edu | Brown Hall (BRWN) 328 | Profile
 
 

Pingen Chen portrait
 
Pingen Chen, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Modeling and control of engine; emission control; automated and connected vehicles; electric vehicle control and optimization; nonlinear control and optimization.

931-372-3310 | pchen@tntech.edu | Brown Hall (BRWN) | Profile

image placeholder
 
 
Bruce Jo, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

bjo@tntech.edu | Profile
 
 
 

Ethan Languri portraitEthan Languri, Ph.D., P.E.

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Heat transfer study of functionalized nanodiamond colloids; latent thermal energy storage systems; sustainable evaporation in porous media; industrial equipment energy efficiency enhancement; heating, ventilation and air conditioning.

931-372-6790 | elanguri@tntech.edu | Brown Hall (BRWN) 240 | Profile

Sally Pardue portrait
 
 
Sally Pardue, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Random vibrations; modal analysis; non-destructive evaluation; machine design.

931-372-3309 | spardue@tntech.edu | Brown Hall (BRWN) 329 | Profile

Rory Roberts portraitRory Roberts, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Research Interests: transient model for propulsion; power and thermal systems for system design; optimization and control architecture development.

931-372-3260 | rroberts@tntech.edu | Brown Hall (BRWN) 312 | Profile

Assistant Professor


Ahmad Vaselbehagh portrait
Ahmad Vaselbehagh, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Turbulence and vortex dynamics; renewable energy generation; energy storage: atmospheric flows; fluid-structure interactions.

931-372-6468 | avaselbehagh@tntech.edu | Brown Hall (BRWN) 322 | Profile

 


Peng Zhang portrait
Peng Zhang, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Computational fluid dynamics; experimental fluid and solid mechanics; fluid-structure interactions; multi-functional materials; optimal design

931-372-3323 | pzhang@tntech.edu | Brown Hall (BRWN) 329 | Profile

Lecturer


William Brookshear portrait

 
William Brookshear, Ph.D.

Lecturer

Research Interests: Thermodynamics; fluids; heat transfer.

931-372-3272 | wbrookshear@tntech.edu | Brown Hall (BRWN) 110 | Profile

 


Tristan Hill portrait
 
Tristan Hill

Lecturer

Research Interests: Robotics; programming; numerical modeling analysis; mechatronics; dynamics of machinery.

931-372-3732 |  thill@tntech.edu | Brown Hall (BRWN) 305 | Profile

 


Andy Pardue portrait
Andy Pardue, Ph.D.

Lecturer

Research Interests: Product design; engineering management; product analysis; numerical analysis.

931-372-6169 | bpardue@tntech.edu | Brown Hall (BRWN) 316 | Profile
 

Adjunct Faculty


Ahmed Abounassif portrait

 
 
Ahmed Abounassif, Ph.D.

Adjunct Faculty

Research Interests: Thermodynamics; fluid mechanics; heat transfer.

931-372-6028 |  aabounassif@tntech.edu | Clement Hall (CLEM)316 | Profile

 


Staff 


Lisa Meadows portrait

 

 
Lisa Meadows

Administrative Associate

931-372-3254 | lmeadows@tntech.edu | Brown Hall (BRWN) | Profile

 


Chris Mills

 
Chris Mills

Research and Development Engineer

931-372-3190 | cmills@tntech.edu | Brown Hall (BRWN) 126 | Profile

 


Jeff Randolph portrait

 

 
Jeff Randolph

Academic Support Associate

931-372-3289 | jrandolph@tntech.edu | Brown Hall (BRWN) 130 | Profile

 


Beth Smith portrait

 
Beth Smith

Outreach Coordinator

931-372-3275 | basmith@tntech.edu | Brown Hall (BRWN) 230 | Profile

 

 


Learn More About Our Programs

Degree Information

Top Careers

Student Success

About our department button

Questions button

Meet our faculty button