College of Engineering

Awards and Recognition


Brown-Henderson Outstanding Engineering Faculty Award

The Brown-Henderson Outstanding Engineering Faculty Award, established in honor of the late Dean Emeritus James Seay Brown and the late Dean James M. Henderson, first dean of the College of Engineering, is to recognize an outstanding faculty member in the College of Engineering. This award will focus primarily on accomplishments which most closely reflect the mission of the College of Engineering, to prepare our graduates through a blend of education, research and service.

To be eligible a faculty member must be a full-time member of the College of Engineering faculty, must have been employed at TNTech for the past three years, and must have not won the award in the past five years. The recipient will receive a plaque and a stipend.

Anyone within the College can submit a nomination. The Engineering Joint Council, the Engineering Development Friends and the Dean's Advisory Board are encouraged to present a nomination on behalf of their organization.

Nominations due by December 1st each year. Read more and nominate...

Kinslow Engineering Research Award

The Kinslow Engineering Research Award is given annually for the best paper written by a TNTech engineering faculty member and published in a referred professional journal during October 1, 2016 – September 30, 2017. Nominees must be the principal author. The selection criteria include both research innovation and research applicability.

Nominations due by December 1st each year. Read more and nominate...

Leighton E. Sissom Innovation and Creativity Award

Established to recognize scholarship, methodology, invention, technique, processes, or other unique contributions demonstrating creativity and innovation. Faculty, staff, and students in the College of Engineering are eligible for nomination.

Nominations due by December 1st each year. Read more and nominate...

T.S. McCord Innovation and Techno-Entrepreneurship Faculty Fellowship Award

The T.S. McCord Faculty Fellowship in Innovation and Techno-Entrepreneurship has been established to recognize faculty who demonstrate a commitment in helping the college integrate Renaissance Engineering through making techno-entrepreneurship an integral element of its mission and instilling the spirit of innovation that is necessary for students to succeed in today’s technology-driven world. This award in many ways embody the College of Engineering’s vision of “Twenty-first Century Renaissance Engineers, Revolutionizing Engineering to Solve Societal Problems.”

The T.S. McCord Faculty Fellow in Innovation & Techno-Entrepreneurship is funded by a generous gift from the estate of the Theodore S. “Mac” McCord, Sr., a 1940 General Engineering graduate of then Tennessee Polytechnic Institute (TPI). Originally from Pulaski, TN, Mr. McCord spent a career with South Central Bell Telephone Company, working his way up to senior administration. Mr. McCord’s fond memories of TPI and in particular, its faculty (namely D.M. Lee, James Seay Brown, and Louis Johnson), led him to establish this endowment fund for the College of Engineering.

Applicants were evaluated based on a long list of parameters that had to be demonstrated in a written proposal indicating sustained and distinguished innovation and techno-entrepreneurship activities at Tennessee Tech. Each applicant had to also present a plan for use of their award to promote innovation and techno-entrepreneurship.

This fellowship awards $4,000 per year for 3 consecutive years and is renewable based on a peer review process.

Rising Engineer Faculty Scholar Award

The Rising Engineer Faculty Scholar Award recognizes tenure-track faculty who are making outstanding accomplishments as documented in their scholarship activities for mainly the time they are on the Tennessee Tech University College of Engineering faculty. The selection is based on classic metrics of scholarship activities.

Award details

Read more about these awards, find applications, past recipients and others here...


Given each year in recognition of an outstanding non-faculty staff member from the College of Engineering.

Nominations due by December 1st each year.

Read more and nominate...


  • Engineer of Distinction Award
  • Technologist of Distinction Award
  • Computer Scientist of Distinction
  • Distinguished Young Alumni

Read more and nominate...


  • Bachelor of Science Best Paper Award
  • Outstanding Senior Award
  • Outstanding Senior Service Award
  • Outstanding Innovation Award
  • Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award
  • Rising Renaissance Engineer Spectrum Award



The faculty and staff here receive university pins for 5, 10, 15, 20, 25 and 30 years of service based on their years of service to TTU.