ttu logo

tennessee technological university

TTU News

Brent Waugh, a senior psychology major from Knoxville, received this year’s 2004 Derryberry Award, Tennessee Tech University’s most prestigious student award.

Waugh, who served as TTU’s Student Government Association president, met the award criteria throughout his college career by excelling in student leadership, academics and sportsmanship.

The late Everett Derryberry, who served as Tennessee Tech’s president for 34 years, established this annual award upon his retirement. Derryberry’s criteria called for the award to be given “to a senior who has exhibited scholastic attainment arising out of moral and intellectual integrity; successful campus activity where participation indicates a commitment to good citizenship, interest in one’s fellow person, and instincts for leadership; and physical vigor as shown by fondness for and success in sports.”

Waugh, son of Elaine and Bill Waugh, graduated from Bearden High School. During his four years, he took on leadership responsibilities as a Student Admissions Representative, Student Orientation Leader and Student Alumni Ambassador. He held several positions in student government, including president and senator. In 2003, he received the SGA’s “Legislation of the Year” Award.

With a 4.0 grade point average, outstanding academic performance led to his memberships in numerous honor societies including Psi Chi psychology honor society, Mortar Board and Omicron Delta Kappa. A member of Who’s Who Among College Students, he also received two Greek Gold Key Awards for academic performance.

Waugh also contributed leadership to the university by serving on many committees, including the Service Learning, Administrative Council, General Education Fund Policy/Oversight, Athletics and University Planning committees. TTU President Bob Bell appointed him to the Tennessee Board of Regents Academic Committee in 2002-03.

For his social fraternity, Phi Gamma Delta, Waugh served as co-chairperson of the community service, publicity and philanthropy committees. He competed in intramural sports, participating in ultimate Frisbee, volleyball, soccer, football and serving as captain of the basketball team.

In service to his community, Waugh supported the “Up ‘til Dawn” benefit for St. Jude Hospital as executive director and as chairperson of the public relations and morale committees. He also volunteered for the American Red Cross promotions department, the Cookeville Housing Authority’s child tutoring program and Mortar Board’s “Reading is Leading” project. As a leader in a Christian clown group, Love Clowns, he traveled on numerous mission trips in the United States and around the world as a youth leader.
As president and member of TTU’s Pre-Law society, Waugh represented the university in several Mock Trial events throughout the Southeast.

The Derryberry Award selection process involves soliciting campus nominations from every department, school, college and administrative division as well as from Student Government Association executive officers.

Other finalists were Alexis Boyd, a history major from Germantown; Katherine Jane Fanning, a math major from Lynchburg; Laura Herold, an industrial engineering major from Hendersonville; and Jessica Whitehead, an accounting major from Columbia.