ttu logo

tennessee technological university

TTU News

For his internationally-respected research in power electronics, Joseph Ojo has been named the 2001 Donald Caplenor Faculty Research Award winner at Tennessee Tech University.

Ojo, a professor of electrical and computer engineering, conducts research in a field that affects everyday life. Through power electronics research, the electricity needed to run computers, automobiles, motors, lighting, telecommunications and more is processed and filtered more efficiently. Researchers work to deliver electricity with maximum efficiency in the smallest size and least weight possible.

"Our university is considered a center of power electronic research thanks to Dr. Ojo," said P.K. Rajan, chairperson of TTU's electrical and computer engineering department.

Ojo has been appointed associate editor of IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics, a respected international journal. He has published 30 articles in refereed international journals and has presented 27 papers in international conferences. His persistent efforts to secure external funding have brought more than $400,000 to the university, including grants from the National Science Foundation and the Office of Naval Research. He has been instrumental in setting up the Electric Machine and Power Electronics Laboratory at the university.

Ojo's honors include Tennessee Tech's 2001 Kinslow Award, the university's 1996 Sigma Xi Research Award and the 1995 IEEE Industry Applications Society Best Paper Award. An area of recent research includes a paper, which earned the Kinslow Award, offering vital and practical contributions to emerging power generation technologies that should be of great use in naval ship, aircraft, aerospace and industrial schemes.

Ojo, a member of TTU's faculty since 1988, earned his master's and bachelor's degrees at Nigeria's Ahmadu Bello University, and his doctorate in electrical engineering from the University Wisconsin-Madison.

The Caplenor Award, first presented in 1984, is the university's premier research award. The award was named in honor of Donald Caplenor, former associate vice president for research and dean of instructional development, who died in 1979. Last year's award winner was Ali Alouani, an electrical and computer engineering professor.