ttu logo

tennessee technological university

TTU News

The American Geophysical Union has announced the honoring of Faisal Hossain, a civil engineering professor at Tennessee Tech University, as the 2012 AGU Charles S. Falkenberg awardee.

The award goes to a scientist under 45 years of age who has contributed to the quality of life, economic opportunities and stewardship of the planet through the use of Earth science information and to the public awareness of the importance of understanding our planet. 

AGU president Michael J. McPhaden said Hossain’s peers chose him for the award based on his exceptional accomplishments, commitment to excellence and dedication to the science of geophysics.

Hossain has been at TTU for eight years. His research focuses on water resources, climate, environment, improving the capacity of nations to address environmental extremes, and satellite remote sensing.

Established in 1919, the AGU is a highly interdisciplinary society with 61,000 members across 130 nations. AGU is a nonprofit corporation.