National Science Foundation Meeting April 2015

PAPPG ARCHIVE

TTU Visit to NSF

  • In April 2017, several representatives from Tennessee Tech visited the National Science Foundation to get an idea of trending research opportunities and strategies to meet these needs and earn funding in those areas. Below are links to presentations at the event and vita from those who attended from Tennessee Tech.

PRESENTATIONS
Engineering Education and Centers Division

Division of Computer and Network Systems

National Science Foundation Research Traineeship (NRT) and Cyber Opportunities

Division of Materials Research

Directorate of Engineering

Emerging Frontiers of Research and Innovation

  • Dr. Sohi Rastegar--Senior Advisor (ENG)

Welcome by NSF Chief Operating Officer

Summary Report


 Attendees

 Name Department    Email    Area of Research 
Steven Anton
Vita
 ME   santon@tntech.edu    Dynamic systems, smart materials, energy harvesting, implantable medical devices, structural health monitoring, vibrations 
Laura Arias Chavez
Vita
ChE    lchavez@tntech.edu    Water treatment, sustainable energy, resource recovery from wastes, membrane fabrication 
Joseph Asante
Vita
Earth Sciences    jasante@tntech.edu    Use of hydrochemistry and isotopes to study hydrologic processes and develop models to address water quantity and qualityh issues 
 Rabie Belkacemi
Vita
ECE    rbelkacemi@tntech.edu    Power systems, adaptive and intelligent systems 
 Indranil Bhattacharya
Vita
 ECE   ibhattacharya@tntech.edu    High-efficiency solar cells, lithium-ion/air battery storage 
Andrew Callender
Vita
CH    acallender@tntech.edu    UV-vis and vibrational spectroscopy, natural organic matter, nanoparticles in the environment, Raman spectroscopy 
Syed Hasan
Vita
ECE    shasan@tntech.edu    Hardware security, reliable digital VLSI Design 
Adam Holley Vita  PHY   aholley@tntech.edu    Experimental low-energy fundamental physics with neutrons 
 Mary Kidd Vita PHY    mkidd@tntech.edu    Experimental nuclear physics, rare event searches, low background signal detection, high purity germanium detectors, applications of nuclear physics to environmental research 
Ethan Languri
Vita
 ME   elanguri@tntech.edu    Heat transfer fluid enhancement, localized solar heating for steam generation, nanofluids for enhanced energy systems, microencapsulated phase change materials, thermal energy storage systems, porous media flows 
Mohamed Mahmoud
Vita
 ECE   mmahmoud@tntech.edu    Wireless Network Security:  Smart Grid; Delay Tolerant Networks; Vehicular Ad Hoc Network (VANET), Wireless Sensor Network (WSN) and multihop cellular wireless networks; eHealthcare System; Trust and reputation systems; micropayment systems and cooperation incentive mechanisms
Applied Cryptography
Protocols for public-key encryption, digital signature, and key exchange
Artificial Intelligence Applications:  Natural language processing; machine translation systems
Vahid Motevalli
Vita
CoE   vmotevalli@tntech.edu   Associate Dean for Research and Innovation
 Justin Murdock
Vita
BIO    jnmurdock@tntech.edu    Aquatic ecology, biogeochemistry, community ecology, ecosystem function 
Francis Otuonye
Vita
VP   fotuonye@tntech.edu   Associate VP for Research
Jennifer Pascal
Vita
CHE   jpascal@tntech.edu   Modeling electrical field processes for biomedical applications, bioseparations
Mustafa Rajabali
Vita
PHY   mrajabali@tntech.edu   Nuclear structure/gamma ray spectroscopy/beta decay spectroscopy/environmental essaying/soil and rain water radiation measurements
Jeffrey Rice
Vita
ChE   jrice@tntech.edu   Protein engineering, extracellular matrix, regenerative medicine
Pezhman Shirvanian
Vita
ME   pshirvanian@tntech.edu   Fuel cells (catalyst), solar fuels (photo-catalyst), metal-air batteries (catalyst), high temperature sodium batteries (NaMx)
Matthew Yarnold
Vita
CEE   myarnold@tntech.edu   Structural identification and structural health monitoring
Xuanzhi Zhang
Vita
CH   xzhan@tntech.edu   Protein dynamics, protein-protein interaction, cell signaling, adaptor protein

Experience Tech For Yourself

Visit us to see what sets us apart.

Schedule Your Visit