ttu logo

tennessee technological university

Research & Economic Development

Water Center Core Faculty

user
Tania Datta
Assistant Professor
contact info
tdatta@tntech.edu
Water Center
Prescott Hall (PRSC) 333 / Box 5033
user
Gordon Stearman
Professor
contact info
GKStearman@tntech.edu
Water Center
Prescott Hall (PRSC) 340 / Box 5033
931-372-3528

Tennessee Cooperative Fishery Research Unit Faculty Working with the Center

BettoliNew

Phil W. Bettoli, Professor and Unit Leader
pbettoli@tntech.edu
931/372-3086
Pennebaker Hall 205

Research Interests: assessing fish stocking programs, biotic integrity and conservation of imperiled fish species in regulated rivers, catch-and-release mortality, dynamics of exploited fish populations, status and conservation of commercially exploited paddlefish and sturgeon

LayzerSmallVersion

James B. Layzer, Professor and Unit Leader (Retired)
jim_layzer@tntech.edu
931/372-3032
Pennebaker Hall 205

Research Interests: effects of stream regulation on aquatic biota, ecology and conservation of freshwater mussels, restoring and maintaining aquatic biodiversity, ecology of stream fishes

Water Center Faculty

user
Pedro Arce
Chairperson
contact info
PArce@tntech.edu
Chemical Engineering
Prescott Hall (PRSC) 214 / Box 5013
931-372-3297
https://beee2.wordpress.com/
resume / curriculum vitae
parce
user
Michael Best
Professor
Ph.D. Agricultural Economics, Major: Marketing and Price Analysis, University of Kentucky, 1995
contact info
MBest@tntech.edu
School of Agriculture
Foundation Hall (FNDH) 132 / Box 5034
931-372-3154
about
Research Interests: Marketing and Production of Fruits and Vegetables, Feasibility Analysis of New Value Added Agricultural Products
user
Jeffrey Boles
Chairperson
Ph.D. University of South Carolina (Chemistry/Biochemistry)
contact info
JBoles@tntech.edu
Chemistry
Foster Hall (FOST) 221 / Box 5055
931-372-3421
about
Dr. Boles research is very cross-disciplinary but always involves either analytical biochemistry or fundamental biochemistry whether it be a project in Proteomics (including Environmental Proteomics), Forensics, Protein Chemistry or Structural Biochemistry. Dr. Boles founded the Proteomics working group at TTU in 2008 with funding provided by the National Science Foundation. Proteomics projects have included studies of the effects of the antibacterial compound triclosan on algae, the effect of gold nanoparticles on ciliates and the impact of selenomethionine and telluromethionine on E. coli.
user
Tammy Boles
Assistant Professor
contact info
TBoles@tntech.edu
Environmental Studies Udrgrd
Southwest Hall (SWH) 181 / Box 5152
931-372-6123
resume / curriculum vitae
tboles
user
Andrew Callender
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., 2006, University of Michigan
contact info
ACallender@tntech.edu
Chemistry
Foster Hall (FOST) 410 / Box 5055
931-372-6273
http://iweb.tntech.edu/acallender
about
Research: Analytical chemistry and spectroscopy, particularly for detection of new materials and emerging pollutants in the environment; low-cost analytical devices for the developing world.
user
Jesse Carrick
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. University of Alabama
contact info
jcarrick@tntech.edu
Chemistry
Foster Hall (FOST) 318 / Box 5055
931-372-6199
about
Research in the Carrick group is focused in three distinct, but complementary areas: 1) Total synthesis of biologically relevant natural products, 2) Synthesis of novel ligands for chemoselective minor actinide extraction, and 3) Development of efficient methods for the construction of functionalized synthons.
resume / curriculum vitae
jcarrick
user
Brian Carver
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. The University of Memphis; M.S. Middle Tennessee State University; B.S. Freed-Hardeman University
contact info
bcarver@tntech.edu
Biology
Pennebaker Hall (PENN) 122 / Box 5063
931-372-3127
http://iweb.tntech.edu/bcarver/index.html
about
I am a mammalogist and vertebrate community ecologist. I teach nonmajors biology courses and courses for biology majors at both the undergraduate and graduate level. In addition to teaching, I am active in research and serve as major professor to graduate students as well as on committees for other graduate students. I am a Tennessee native, raised in rural southern middle Tennessee. I spent seven years as a faculty member in the biology department at Freed-Hardeman University in western TN. Immediate prior to coming to Tech, I spent a year as a Visiting Assistant Professor of Biology at Northern Michigan University in the city of Marquette in Michigan's remote Upper Peninsula. As a biologist, Tennessee (and the southeast) is an exciting area to work because of the great diveristy of landforms. These different areas create unique habitats for characteristic assemblages of organisms, such that you can find very different biological communities in close proximity to each other. This also means that the biodiversity of the region is very high, so there are lots of organisms (and interactions) to study.
resume / curriculum vitae
bcarver
user
Daniel Combs
Professor
Ph.D. University of Missouri
contact info
DLCombs@tntech.edu
Biology
Pennebaker Hall (PENN) 313 / Box 5063
931-372-6541
user
Nathan Conner
Assistant Professor
contact info
nconner@tntech.edu
School of Agriculture
Foundation Hall (FNDH) 132 / Box 5034
931-372-6131
user
Steven Cook
Professor
Ph.D. Southern Illinois University at Carbondale
contact info
SBCook@tntech.edu
Biology
Pennebaker Hall (PENN) 321 / Box 5063
931-372-3194
about
I study stream macroinvertebrate and fish communities. Recent projects have included assessment of three rare fishes within Abrams Creek in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. We also recently completed an assessment of macroinvertebrate community responses to brook trout restoration efforts within the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. My current project addresses aquaculture of Southern Appalachian Brook Trout and their performance after stocking.
user
Ferdinand DiFurio
Associate Professor
Clemson University-Ph.D
contact info
FDiFurio@tntech.edu
Economics Finance and Marketing
Johnson Hall (JOHN) 338 / Box 5083
931-372-3839
about
Teach courses in economics and statistics. Conduct research in regional economics.
user
Dale Ensor
Emeritus Professor
contact info
DEnsor@tntech.edu
Restricted Dept of Teacher Educ
Foster Hall (FOST) 127 / Box 5055
931-372-3493
resume / curriculum vitae
densor
user
John Gunderson
Associate Professor
contact info
JGunderson@tntech.edu
Biology
Pennebaker Hall (PENN) 319 / Box 5131
931-372-3250
user
Evan Hart
Professor
B.A. 1991 Mary Washington College; M.S. 1996 Virginia Tech; Ph.D. 2000 Univ. of Tennessee
contact info
EHart@tntech.edu
Earth Sciences
Kittrell Hall (KITT) 205 / Box 5062
931-372-3516
http://iweb.tntech.edu/ehart/
about
Currently teaching Geomorphology, Natural Hazards, Water Resources, and Meteorology. Research interests include flooding, cave sediments, and coastal geomorphology.
resume / curriculum vitae
ehart
user
John Harwood
Professor
contact info
JHarwood@tntech.edu
Chemistry
Foster Hall (FOST) 222 / Box 5055
931-372-3473
http://jharwood6.wix.com/uc-sierra-club
resume / curriculum vitae
jharwood
user
Steven Hayslette
Professor
Ph.D. Auburn University
contact info
SHayslette@tntech.edu
Biology
Pennebaker Hall (PENN) 301 / Box 5063
931-372-3146
about
I'm a wildlife ecologist with research interests in foraging ecology of avian granivores, animal behavior, and ecology and management of upland game birds. I teach National Wildlife Policy, Wildlife Principles, Wildlife Techniques, and Concepts of Biology and Environment for educators.
user
Carla Hurt
Assistant Professor
contact info
churt@tntech.edu
Biology
Pennebaker Hall (PENN) 412 / Box 5063
931-372-3143
about
For my research, I am interested in processes of speciation and diversification and the implications that these processes have on conservation of biodiversity. Specific aims of my research include: 1) identifying taxonomic lineages and cryptic diversity, 2) reconstructing the phylogenetic history and geographic context of species radiations, 3) examining the ecological and developmental factors that promote and sustain diversity and 4) assessing the geographic structure of genetic variation within habitats. To address these questions, I employ a wide diversity of molecular tools including DNA sequencing and genotyping as well as next-generation tools such as transcriptome sequencing and reduced genome sequencing.
resume / curriculum vitae
churt
user
Alfred Kalyanapu
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. University of Utah
contact info
akalyanapu@tntech.edu
Civil and Environmental Engineering
Prescott Hall (PRSC) 334 / Box 5015
931-372-3561
http://www.techwarms.org/
additional assignment
http://iweb.tntech.edu/akalyanapu/index.html
resume / curriculum vitae
akalyanapu
user
Shawn Krosnick
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. The Ohio State University, B.S. Cornell University
contact info
skrosnick@tntech.edu
Biology
Pennebaker Hall (PENN) 419 / Box 5063
931-372-6194
http://iweb.tntech.edu/skrosnick/
about
My research focuses on plant systematics (evolutionary relationships and taxonomy), specifically within the passion flowers (Passiflora). I am interested in tracing changes in plant development, morphology, and anatomy within an evolutionary context. I am especially interested in how molecular changes in gene expression lead to novel phenotypes.
resume / curriculum vitae
skrosnick
user
H Wayne Leimer
Professor
BS in geology, 1962, Missouri School of Mines and Metallurgy, Rolla, MO; PhD in Geology, 1969, University of Missouri, Columbia, MO
contact info
HWLeimer@tntech.edu
Earth Sciences
Kittrell Hall (KITT) 111 / Box 5062
931-372-3522
http://sites.tntech.edu/hwleimer/
user
Ping-Chi Li
Professor
contact info
PLi@tntech.edu
Earth Sciences
Kittrell Hall (KITT) 207 / Box 5062
931-372-3752
user
Edward Lisic
Professor
contact info
EdLisic@tntech.edu
Chemistry
Foster Hall (FOST) 224 / Box 5055
931-372-3425
resume / curriculum vitae
edlisic
user
Jessica Matson
Professor
contact info
JMatson@tntech.edu
Engineering MOE Funding
Prescott Hall (PRSC) 349 / Box 5015
931-372-3260
user
Hayden Mattingly
Professor
Ph.D., 1999, University of Missouri
contact info
HMattingly@tntech.edu
Biology
Southwest Hall (SWH) 179 / Box 5152
931-372-3698
user
Kendall Moles
Research Assistant 3
contact info
KMoles@tntech.edu
Water Center
Pennebaker Hall (PENN) 104 / Box 5114
931-372-6205
user
Kenneth Morgan
Research Associate
contact info
KMorgan@tntech.edu
Biology
Pennebaker Hall (PENN) 120 / Box 5063
931-372-6240
user
Justin Murdock
Assistant Professor
PhD Kansas State University
contact info
jmurdock@tntech.edu
Biology
Pennebaker Hall (PENN) 315 / Box 5063
931-372-3147
http://iweb.tntech.edu/jnmurdock/
about
My research focuses on stream ecology, biogeochemical cycling, and algal ecology and physiology.
resume / curriculum vitae
jnmurdock
user
O Otuonye
Associate Vice President
contact info
FOtuonye@tntech.edu
Office of Research
Derryberry Hall (DBRY) 305 / Box 5036
931-372-3374
user
Jennifer Pascal
Assistant Professor
contact info
jpascal@tntech.edu
Chemical Engineering
Prescott Hall (PRSC) 307 / Box 5013
931-372-3606
www.electrotumormedicine.com
user
Elizabeth Powell
Coordinator
PhD: University of Louisville, Rhetoric and Composition
contact info
epowell@tntech.edu
SACF Enginrg Student Success
Clement Hall (CLEM) 204 / Box 5053
931-372-3540
about
Research interests: Engineering communication, technical communications, student success
resume / curriculum vitae
epowell
user
Jeffrey Rice
Assistant Professor
contact info
jrice@tntech.edu
Chemical Engineering
Prescott Hall (PRSC) 309 / Box 5013
931-372-3678
http://jeffreyjamesrice.wix.com/pbel
user
Thomas Roberts
Professor
contact info
TRoberts@tntech.edu
Biology
Pennebaker Hall (PENN) 309 / Box 5063
931-372-3138
user
Jonathan Sanders
Assistant Professor
contact info
RSanders@tntech.edu
Chemical Engineering
Derryberry Hall (DBRY) 306 / Box 5013
931-372-3374
user
Holly Stretz
Associate Professor
• PhD Chemical Engineering: University of Texas at Austin ( 8 - 2005) “Nanocomposite Blends of ABS and Montmorillonite: Compatibilization and Dispersion” Thesis Advisor: Dr. Donald R. Paul • MS Chemistry: Texas State University, San Marcos, TX (12-1996) “Rubber-Toughened Blends of Bisphenol A Polycarbonate and Styrene-Maleic Anhydride Copolymer” Thesis Advisor: Dr. Patrick Cassidy • BS Chemistry: Texas A&M University, College Station, TX (5-1980)
contact info
HStretz@tntech.edu
Chemical Engineering
Prescott Hall (PRSC) 311 / Box 5013
931-372-3495
additional assignment
• Associate Professor, Tennessee Technological University, Cookeville, TN2011-present. Research program in nanocomposite thermal stability, nano-materials for protein separations, nano-stability of organophotovoltaics, nanoparticle environmental fate and transformation. • Assistant Professor, Tennessee Technological University, Cookeville, TN2005-2011. • Chief Technology Officer, Promethia Labs LLC, Cookeville, TN  2013-2015. • Project Manager, Texas State University, San Marcos, TX  1998 – 2005. • Process Engineer II, Advanced Micro Devices, Austin TX  1984 – 1986. • Process Engineer I, Celanese, Bishop, TX  1983 – 1984. • Plant Chemist, Celanese, Bay City and Bishop, TX  1980 – 1983.
resume / curriculum vitae
hstretz
user
Martha Wells

contact info
MJMWells@tntech.edu
/ Box
user
Hong Zhang
Professor
Ph.D. University of Vermont 1998
contact info
HZhang@tntech.edu
Chemistry
Foster Hall (FOST) 221 / Box 5055
931-372-6325
http://iweb.tntech.edu/hzhang/