University Research Advisory Committee

  • Procedures

    Complete Procedures Document

    PURPOSE AND SCOPE – The University Research Advisory Committee advises the President and President’s cabinet members on strategies to stimulate growth in scholastic and externally funded research and innovative/creative activities within the university community.  The Committee advises on the development of a comprehensive structure and network of programs to foster these activities along with fulfilling one of the key focus areas: “Distinctiveness – Create Distinctive Programs and Invigorate Faculty” of the flight plan with following objectives:

    • Expand scholastic and externally funded research
    • Support faculty collaboration and development
    • Promote cross-disciplinary and integrated programs and scholarship
    • Provide undergraduate research opportunities

    The Committee reports directly to either the Academic Council or Administrative Council, or both, depending on the matter at hand.  In carrying out its function the Committee will:

    1. Identify strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and challenges to research growth and externally funded scholarly activities at TTU;
    2. Identify emerging research opportunities anticipated across the academic disciplines;
    3. Make recommendations regarding intellectual and infrastructure needs required to capitalize on major research opportunities;
    4. Develop plans and make recommendations for accessing, supporting and sustaining existing and emerging research thrust areas;
    5. Review current practices in research administration and recommend strategies to foster research growth; and
    6. Make recommendations regarding the commercialization of research and intellectual property issues.

  • Committee Members

     2019-2020 Members

    Name Classification Campus Box No.  Email Term Expires
    Dr. Michael Adduci Faculty 5045 madduci@tntech.edu 2020
    Dr. Satish Mahajan Administrative 5004 smahajan@tntech.edu 2020
    Dr. Jason Beach Faculty 5042 jbeach@tntech.edu 2020
    Dr. Steven Anton Faculty 5014 santon@tntech.edu 2020
    Dr. Sheikh Ghafoor Faculty 5101  sghafoor@tntech.edu   2020
    Dr. Hayden Mattingly Faculty  5152  hmattingly@tntech.edu  2020
    Dr. Adam Holley Faculty  5051 aholley@tntech.edu  2020
    Dr. Deborah (Debbie) Barnard Faculty  5061  dbarnard@tntech.edu  2020 
    Dr. Ramchandran Natarajan Faculty  5022  rnat@tntech.edu   2020
    Dr. Shelia Hurley  Faculty 5001  shurley@tntech.edu   2020
    Dr. Brian Leckie Faculty  5034  bleckie@tntech.edu   2020
    Dr. Jeff Boles  Faculty  5055  jboles@tntech.edu   2020
    Dr. Mark Stephens Administrative   5136 mstephens@tntech.edu   2020
    Ms. Emily Bass Student    ejbass42@students.tntech.edu  2020
    Ms. Brookland Gordon Student    bagordon43@students.tntech.edu  2020
    Executive Officer to Provide Staff Support Services: Dr. Franics Otuonye, Interim VP for Research and Economic Development      
    Nonvoting Resource Persons: Mr. Greg Holt, Dr. Terry Saltsman, Ms. Deborah Gernt      

  • Minutes

    Please visit our SharePoint site for copies of URAC minutes. Note: You must use your Tennessee Tech credentials to log into that page.

  • Scholastic Research Award

    Tennessee Tech University Annual Scholastic Research Award
    presented by the University Research Advisory Committee

    The Annual Scholastic Research Award is a university-wide award for a single, significant and innovative work produced, published, performed or exhibited during the preceding calendar year (January 1 – December 31). 

    Applications are open to all tenure-track or tenured faculty, with one award reserved for tenure-track faculty and one award reserved for tenured faculty, for a total of two awards. Each awardee will receive a monetary prize in the amount of $1,500. A faculty member who has won the award shall be ineligible for the same award for a period of three years.

    A complete application consists of the following items:

    1. A two-page narrative explaining the importance of the work and its relevance to the applicant's larger discipline (NB: Receipt of a grant alone does not constitute an eligible work within the parameters of this award). 

    The narrative must be double-spaced with one-inch margins at the top, bottom, and on each side, and must not exceed two pages.  The type must be clear, readily legible, and 12-point Times New Roman.

    2. A one-page letter of support from a colleague that explains the importance and relevance of the work submitted within the context of the applicant's discipline.  The letter must be on letterhead from the evaluator's institution. The letter may come from the Tennessee Tech faculty, or from outside of Tennessee Tech.

    3. Up to 3 pieces of evidence in support of the work.

    Evidence can include, but is not limited to, the following: Copies of publications, compositions, programs and reviews of exhibitions or performances, or any other item attesting to the work under consideration. The items the candidate submits as evidence should serve to strengthen the narrative and serve to provide a deeper understanding of the submitted work's significance and innovation to a committee with members representing all disciplines at Tennessee Tech. 

    Do not attach a bio, vitae, or resume to the application. 

    Application materials must be submitted electronically in a single PDF to dpennebaker@tntech.edu on or before February 28, 2019. 

    THE COMMITTEE WILL REJECT ANY APPLICATION THAT DOES NOT ADHERE TO THE ABOVE GUIDELINES EXACTLY AS SPECIFIED.

    The University Research Advisory Committee will review applications each spring semester and award winners will be announced each April at the Faculty Recognition Reception. 

    SCHOLASTIC RESEARCH AWARD WINNERS

    • 2018:  Jesse Carrick and Mohamed Mahmoud
    • 2017:  Steven Canfield, Seth King and ChaBum Lee

 

Experience Tech For Yourself

Visit us to see what sets us apart.

Schedule Your Visit
Research Home