Research & Economic Development

Certified Departmental Reviewers

Certified Departmental Reviewers for IRB Applications 

The list below is of the certified Departmental Reviewers for each department. Only those from this list are authorized to review IRB applications at the departmental level. If your department is listed as “TBA” or “Unassigned,” please contact the IRB Chairperson ( sseiler@tntech.edu; x3171).

Name

College/Department

Email Address

COLLEGE OF AGRICULTURE & HUMAN ECOLOGY

TBA

Agriculture

TBA

Melinda Anderson

Human Ecology

MAnderson@tntech.edu

TBA

Human Ecology

TBA

COLLEGE OF ARTS & SCIENCES

Unassigned

Art

Unassigned

David Beck

Biology

dbeck@tntech.edu

Richard Pirkle

Biology

rpirkle@tntech.edu

Wilson Gichuhi

Chemistry

wgichuhi@tntech.edu

TBA

Communication

TBA

Zachary Willcox

Counseling & Psychology

zwilcox@tntech.edu

Chris Burgin

Counseling & Psychology

cburgin@tntech.edu

Jann Cupp

Counseling & Psychology

JCupp@tntech.edu

Chad Luke

Counseling & Psychology

cluke@tntech.edu

Stephanie Kazanas

Counseling & Psychology

skazanas@tntech.edu

Tony Michael

Counseling & Psychology

tmichael@tntech.edu

TBA

Counseling & Psychology

TBA

Matthew Zagumny

Counseling & Psychology

mzagumny@tntech.edu

TBA

Earth Sciences

TBA

Tony Baker

English

abaker@tntech.edu

Debbie Barnard

Foreign Languages

dbarnard@tntech.edu 

TBA

History

TBA

Stacy Brown

Mathematics

slbrown@tntech.edu

TBA

Music

TBA

TBA

Physics

TBA

Paula Engelhardt

Physics

Engelhar@tntech.edu

TBA

Physics

TBA

Lachelle Norris

Sociology & Political Science

LNorris@tntech.edu

Steven Seiler

Sociology & Political Science

sseiler@tntech.edu

Ada Haynes

Sociology & Political Science

ahaynes@tntech.edu

COLLEGE OF BUSINESS

Unassigned

Accounting

Unassigned

Meral Anitsal

Economics & Marketing

MAnitsal@tntech.edu

COLLEGE OF EDUCATION

George Chitiyo

Curriculum & Instruction

GChitiyo@tntech.edu

Paula Greathouse

Curriculum & Instruction

PGreathouse@tntech.edu

Seth King

Curriculum & Instruction

SAKing@tntech.edu

Lisa Zagumny

Curriculum & Instruction

LZagumny@tntech.edu

TBA

Decision Science & Management

TBA

Michal Phillips

Exercise Science

mbphillips@tntech.edu

COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING

Beth Powell

College of Engineering

epowell@tntech.edu

Terry Guo

Center for Manufacturing Research

NGuo@tntech.edu

COLLEGE OF INTERDISCIPLINARY STUDIES

Steven Frye

Interdisciplinary Studies

SFrye@tntech.edu

VOLPE LIBRARY

Megan Atkinson

Library

matkinson@tntech.edu

Douglas Bates

Library

dbates@tntech.edu

WHITSON-HESTER SCHOOL OF NURSING

Susan Piras

Nursing

SPiras@tntech.edu

Notes:

TBA: Departmental Reviewer has been appointed, but minimum training is still in progress.

Unassigned: A Departmental Reviewer has not been appointed.