ttu logo

tennessee technological university

Communications & Marketing


Academic Affairs is accepting recommendations for Tennessee Tech's nomination for the THEC Harold Love Community Service Award until Friday, Feb. 24.

TTU will nominate one faculty/staff member and one student for the honor. Historically, TTU has done well with its nominees winning one or both categories. The recommendations will be evaluated by a committee on campus. The two final nominees will be contacted for more detailed information. Please fill out the form located at for students, and faculty/staff, and send your recommendations to :

Academic Affairs
LOVE Award Committee
Campus Box 5136

Criteria for Nominations:

Demonstrated Public Service: Public service should be based on what constitutes public service to the community as defined by the respective institution’s role and mission, as well as service to the institution itself. The service should be beyond the scope of nominee’s paid duties.

Nominee's Effectiveness: An evaluation of the nominee’s effectiveness shall be judged by his/her impact on individuals, groups, or organizations served. This should include evidence of the success of his/her service, in terms of improvement of communities, volunteer work programs, charitable service, and leadership roles in community.

Documentation: So that the decision process can be as objective as possible, each nomination should be accompanied by a complete and careful documentation of the candidate’s public service contribution. The nomination should be made on the basic data sheet (available from Academic Affairs or on website below) with the community service activities outlined on the data sheet.

Community service recognition programs for higher education students and faculty/staff at the campus level were created in Tennessee through legislation enacted by the General Assembly in 1991. In 1997, the awards were named for the late Representative Harold Love, who was instrumental in passing the enabling legislation. The Tennessee Higher Education Commission was given the charge to develop rules and regulations by which to implement these programs for public and private two and four-year institutions. A taskforce of institutional and board representatives is convened each year to review each proposal submitted by the campuses and to select the five student and five faculty/staff recipients. Each recipient will receive a $1000 cash prize.

The individuals selected to receive recognition represent the many dimensions of community service – volunteer work, public service, charitable service, and leadership roles in community organizations. They serve as ambassadors for community service among the many diverse higher educational communities in Tennessee.