ttu logo

tennessee technological university

Communications & Marketing

Tennessee Tech University's all-star men's intramural team grabbed the title of state champions at this year's TIRSA Flag Football Shootout, defeating the University of Tennessee-Knoxville, team as well as host Middle Tennessee State University.

TTU won over MTSU in two early rounds, then defeated Union University 34-33 in the quarterfinals. The semifinal victory was over UTK 19-15. TTU won the finals 31-28 over West Florida.

The team will compete in the regional flag football tournament on Nov. 19-21 at Western Kentucky University in Bowling Green, Ky. If the team wins this tournament they will go to the ACIS Flag Football Nationals to be held in New Orleans in December.

TTU Intramural flag football featured seven leagues for both male and female students in Fall 2010. Participation was at an all-time high with a total of 118 teams and 1,574 participants.

Intramural Coordinator Darren Gregory led the team of Danny Brough, Robert Cunningham, Rich Froning, Zac Hennigan, Johnny Kuchar, Josh Moody, William Naylor, Bobby Norwood, Joe Paul Tackett, Ryan Warf, Brandon Weaver, and Jonathan Wilhite.

Intramurals annually boasts more participation than any club, organization or department on campus. All students with six or more hours are allowed to participate.