Center for Manufacturing Research

Center for Manufacturing Research

The Center for Manufacturing Research was created to draw together resources of the State of Tennessee, the university, industries and government funding agencies into a cooperative effort to be on the leading edge of the latest technological advances in manufacturing. The Center draws upon expertise from throughout the College of Engineering and various other colleges, departments and the university, as appropriate, as well as resources outside the university. The Center also employs dedicated faculty and staff that are responsible for enhancing and supporting our strategic research program. 

Established in 1985, the Center for Manufacturing Research exceeded the State of Tennessee's benchmarks of performance and was officially recognized by the State as an Accomplished Center of Excellence in 1990.

The Center is the home of three strategic research areas:

For more information contact:

Ying Zhang, Ph.D.
Center for Manufacturing Research

Subscribe to our newsletter

3D Microscopy Equipment Available

A recent addition to CMR services is the Zygo NewView 6300 3D Microscope. This equipment can be used for surface profiling, surface roughness test, and step height measurement. TTU researchers and external clients are invited to utilize this service.

For more information and specifications...

Announcing the Industry-Graduate Assistantship Program

Hands-on experience with local industry for full-time College of Engineering graduate students in the field of advanced manufacturing and product development.

More information...

Additive Manufacturing Capabilities

Learn about the Center's resources and capabilities in the Additive Manufacturing field.