COVID-19 Reporting and Information • HEERF I & II

Office of the President

Celebration of Excellence

Tennessee Tech University faculty, staff and students have made outstanding contributions to their respective professional and academic fields, offices and the entire campus community. The Celebration of Excellence recognizes these achievements. Tennessee Tech is proud to commend their hard work and ongoing dedication.

Student Awards

Derryberry Award

The Derryberry Award, the highest award given to an undergraduate student at Tech, was established in honor of the late Dr. Everett Derryberry who serviced 34 years as president of the university.

This prestigious award is presented to a graduating senior who has exhibited scholastic attainment arising out of moral and intellectual integrity; successful campus activity where participation indicates a commitment to good citizenship, interest in one’s fellow person, and instincts for leadership; and physical vigor as shown by fondness for and success in sports – all of which demonstrate potential for future service and effective leadership in American society.

Shelley Edwards
Chemical Engineering
View interview with Shelley

Most Valuable Work Study Student

Madisson Flanagan
Multicultural Affairs

Most Valuable Scholarship Student

Hannah Cowan

Faculty Awards

Caplenor Award

Ismail Fidan Portrait

Dr. Ismail Fidan, Professor
Manufacturing and Engineering Technology 


Outstanding Faculty Awards in Teaching

Melissa Giest Portrait

Dr. Melissa Geist, Professor

Adam Holley Portrait

Dr. Adam Holley, Associate Professor


Outstanding Faculty Award for Professional Service

Helen Hunt Portrait

Dr. Helen Hunt, Assistant Professor


General Education Award for Outstanding Teaching

Tech Logo

Ms. K. Bevin Butler, Adjunct Instructor
Art Craft and Design

Richard Pirkle Portrait

Dr. Richard Pirkle, Senior Instructor


Award for Excellence in First-Year Instruction

Tech Logo

Mr. Michael Clark, Adjunct Instructor


Award for Excellence in Creative Inquiry Instruction

Ted Pelton Portrait

Dr. Ted Pelton, Professor

Helen Hunt Portrait

Dr. Helen Hunt, Assistant Professor

Tech Logo

Dr. Lauren Michel, Assistant Professor,
Earth Sciences


Award for Excellence in Creative Inquiry Mentoring

Tania Datta Portrait

Dr. Tania Datta, Associate Professor
Civil and Environmental Engineering

Tech Logo

Dr. Lauren Michel, Assistant Professor,
Earth Sciences

Nikki Panter Portrait

Dr. Nikki Panter, Lecturer


Scholar-Mentor Award

Tech Logo

Dr. Kristen Deiter, Associate Professor

Tech Logo

Dr. Jennifer Meadows, Assistant Professor
Curriculum and Instruction 


Scholastic Research Award

Shelly Marasi Portrait

Dr. Shelly Marasi, Assistant Professor
Decision Sciences and Management

Tech Logo

Dr. Lauren Michel, Assistant Professor,
Earth Sciences

Janet Isbell Portrait

Dr. Janet Isbell, Associate Professor
Teacher Education


Staff Awards

Excellence in Advising

Tech Logo

Dr. Amanda Carroll, Lecturer

Laura Nisbet Portrait

Laura Nisbet, Advisor
Student Success Center

Outstanding Professional Staff Award

Tech Logo

Catherine Wallace, Assistant to the Vice President
University Advancement


Outstanding Clerical Staff Award

Sharon Stevenson

Sharon Stevenson, Administrative Associate 3
Center for Career Development


Outstanding Diversity Advocate Award

Rose Black Portrait

Rose Black, Circulation/Front Desk Supervisor

President's Blog