Faculty & Staff of Mechanical Engineering

Department Leadership

Mohan Rao

Mohan Rao, Ph.D.
Chair for Mechanical Engineering and Professor
Phone: (931) 372-3254
Email: mrao@tntech.edu
Office: Brown Hall, Room 232
Professional Information

Research Interests

  • Vibrations
  • Acoustics
  • Noise Control
  • Damping Design
  • Sound Quality and Auditory Engineering

Jie Cui

Jie Cui, Ph.D.
Associate Chair for Mechanical Engineering and Professor
Phone: (931) 372-3357
Email: jiecui@tntech.edu
O
ffice: Brown Hall, Room 231
Professional Information

Research Interests

  • Computational Fluid Dynamics
  • Turbulence Modeling
  • Large Eddy Simulation
  • Numerical Heat Transfer
  • Thermal Fluids

Faculty   

Ahmed Abounassif

Ahmed Abounassif, Ph.D.
Adjunct Faculty
Phone: (931) 372-6028
Email: aabounassif@tntech.edu
Office: Clement Hall, Room 316
Professional Information

Research Interests

  • Thermodynamics
  • Fluid Mechanics
  • Heat Transfer

Mohammad Albakri

Mohammad Albakri
Assistant Professor
Phone: (931) 372-3265
Email: malbakri@tntech.edu
Office: Brown Hall, Room 312
Professional Information

Research Interests

  • Computational Mechanics
  • Structural Dynamics
  • Meta-Structures
  • Structural Health Monitoring
  • Advanced Manufacturing
  • Experimental Modal Analysis

Steven Anton

Steven Anton, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Phone: (931) 372-3287
Email: santon@tntech.edu
Office: Brown Hall, Room 328
Professional Information

Research Interests

  • Energy Harvesting
  • Smart Materials
  • Piezoelectric Sensing
  • Biomedical Sensing
  • Robotics-Based STEM Education
  • Structural Health Monitoring
  • 3D Printing

William Brookshear

William Brookshear, Ph.D.
Instructor
Phone: (931) 372-3272
Email: wbrookshear@tntech.edu
Office: Brown Hall, Room 110
Professional Information

Research Interests

  • Thermodynamics
  • Fluids  
  • Heat Transfer

Stephen Canfield

Stephen Canfield, Ph.D.
Professor
Phone: (931) 372-6359
Email: scanfield@tntech.edu
Office: Brown Hall, Room 304
Professional Information

Research Interests

  • Robotics
  • Dynamic Modeling
  • Compliant Mechanisms
  • Smart Actuators
  • Mechatronics

Pingen Chen

Pingen Chen, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Phone: (931) 372-3310
Email: pchen@tntech.edu
Office: Brown Hall, Room 115
Professional Information

Research Interests

  • Modeling, Diagnostics, and Control of Dynamic Systems
  • Internal Combustion Engines
  • After Treatment Systems
  • Automotive System Control

Glenn Cunningham

Glenn Cunningham, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Phone: (931) 372-3826
Email: gcunningham@tntech.edu
Office: Brown Hall, Room 239
Professional Information

Research Interests

  • Industrial Energy Conservation
  • Waste Water Energy Efficiency
  • Co-Generation (Heat and Power)
  • Thermodynamics

Tristan Hill

Tristan Hill
Lecturer
Phone: (931) 372-3774
Email: thill@tntech.edu
Office: Brown Hall, Room 305
Professional Information

Research Interests

  • Robotics
  • Programming
  • Numerical Modeling Analysis
  • Mechatronics
  • Dynamics of Machinery

Stephen Idem

Stephen idem, Ph.D.
Professor
Phone: (931) 372-3607
Email: sidem@tntech.edu
Office: Brown Hall, Room 111
Professional Information

Research Interests

  • Scale Model Testing
  • Fluid Flow Measurement
  • Thermal Modeling
  • Fluid Mechanics
  • Heat Transfer

Ethan Languri

Ethan Languri, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Phone: (931) 372-6790
Email: elanguri@tntech.edu
Office: Brown Hall, Room 240
Professional Information

Research Interests

  • Heat Transfer Study of Functionalized Nanodiamond Colloids
  • Latent Thermal Energy Storage Systems
  • Sustainable Evaporation in Porous Media
  • Industrial Equipment Energy Efficiency Enhancement
  • Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning, HVAC

Vahid Motevalli

Vahid Motevalli, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Research and Innovation & Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Phone: (931) 372-3172
Email: vmotevalli@tntech.edu
Office: Clement Hall, Room 201
Professional Information

Research Interests

  • Hybrid-electric Vehicle Systems and Power-train
  • Combustion and Fire Safety
  • Aviation and Transportation Safety and Security

Andy Pardue

Andy Pardue, Ph.D.
Lecturer
Phone: (931) 372-6791
Email: bpardue@tntech.edu
Office: Brown Hall, Room 316
Professional Information

Research Interests

  • Product Design
  • Engineering Management
  • Product Analysis
  • Numerical Analysis

Sally Pardue

Sally Pardue, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Phone: (931) 372-3309
Email: spardue@tntech.edu
Office: Brown Hall, Room 329
Professional Information

Research Interests

  • Random Vibrations
  • Modal Analysis
  • Non-Destructive Evaluation
  • Machine Design

Joseph Slater

Joseph Slater, Ph.D.
College of Engineering Dean and Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Phone: (931) 372-3172
Email: jslater@tntech.edu
Office: Clement Hall, Room 201
Professional Information

Research Interests

  • Vibration of Structures and Machines
  • Aeroelasticity
  • Linear and Nonlinear System Identification
  • Experimental Modal Analysis
  • Nonlinear Dynamics
  • Cyber Physical Systems
  • Morphing Wing Control
  • Turbomachinery Blade Vibration

Meenakshi Sundaram

Meenakshi Sundaram, Ph.D., P.E.
Professor
Phone: (931) 372-3790
Email: msundaram@tntech.edu
Office: Prescott Hall, Room 110
Professional Information

Research Interests

  • Product Design and Development
  • Production
  • Systems Design and Operations Management
  • Lean Manufacturing and Process Improvements
  • Economic Analysis and Cost Justification

Kwun Ting

Kwun Ting, Ph.D.
Professor
Phone: (931) 372-3230
Email: kting@tntech.edu
Office: Brown Hall, Room 211
Professional Information

Research Interests

  • Spacial Mechanisms
  • Dynamics
  • Kinematics
  • Smart Manufacturing
  • Design

Ahmad Vaselbehagh

Ahmad Vaselbehagh, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Phone: (931) 372-6468
Email: avaselbehagh@tntech.edu
Office: Brown Hall, Room 322
Professional Information

Research Interests

  • Turbulence and Vortex Dynamics
  • Renewable Energy Generation
  • Energy Storage
  • Atmospheric Flows
  • Fluid - Structure Interactions

Dale Wilson

Dale Wilson, Ph.D.
Interim Chair, Manufacturing and Engineering Technology, Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Phone: (931) 372-3323
Email: dwilson@tntech.edu
Office: Brown Hall, Room 310
Professional Information

Research Interests

  • Fracture Mechanics
  • Failure Analysis
  • Machine Design
  • Mechanical Properties of Materials

Ying Zhang

Ying Zhang, Ph.D.
Director for the Center for Manufacturing Research and Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Phone: (931) 372-3969
Email: yzhang@tntech.edu
Office: Prescott Hall, Room 229
Professional Information

Research Interests

  • Protective Coatings
  • High-Temperature Materials
  • Thermal Barrier Coatings (TBC)
  • Chemical Vapor Deposition (CVD)

Jiahong Zhu

Jiahong Zhu, Ph.D.
Professor
Phone: (931) 372-3186
Email: jzhu@tntech.edu
Office: Brown Hall, Room 116
Professional Information

Research Interests

  • Solid Oxide Fuel Cell
  • High-Temperature Materials
  • Coatings
  • Environmental Effects in Advanced Materials
  • Intermetallics

Staff

Michelle Holm

Michelle Holm, CAP
Financial Associate
Phone: (931) 372-3255
Email: mholm@tntech.edu
Office: Brown Hall, Room 224A
Professional Information


Lisa Meadows

Lisa Meadows
Administrative Associate
Phone: (931) 372-3254
Email: lmeadows@tntech.edu
Office: Brown Hall, Room 224
Professional Information


Chris Mills

Chris Mills
Research and Development Engineer
Phone: (931) 372-3190
Email: cmills@tntech.edu
Office: Brown Hall, Room 126
Professional Information


Jeff Randolph

Jeff Randolph
Academic Support Associate
Phone: (931) 372-3289
Email: jrandolph@tntech.edu
Office: Brown Hall, Room 130
Professional Information


Beth Smith

Beth Smith
Outreach and Assessment Coordinator
Phone: (931) 372-3275
Email: basmith@tntech.edu
Office: Brown Hall, Room 230
Professional Information

Experience Tech For Yourself

Visit us to see what sets us apart.

Schedule Your Visit