Mailing Address:Tennessee Tech University
Office of Admissions
Campus Box 5006
Cookeville, TN 38505-0001
Street Address:805 Quadrangle
Cookeville, TN 38505
Jere Whitson, rm 208
8am to 4:30pm CST
Students applying to Tennessee Tech may receive a residency status of in-state, domestic out-of-state, international out-of-state, or border county. This status must be verified before the start of every semester. Verifying residency can be done by filling out the FAFSA or submitting one of the legal EVEA documents.
Students are considered in-state if they have lived in the state of Tennessee for at least a year for non-academic purposes.
Domestic Out-of-State Residency
Attend the #1 ranked public university in Tennessee* known for low student debt and high starting career salaries. Tech out-of-state rates are competitive with in-state tuition rates across the country. Students are considered domestic out-of-state if they live outside the state of Tennessee and do not live within one of the designated Kentucky border counties. Tech graduates consistently enter workforce with the least debt of all public Tennessee universities. Make this advantage your advantage: check out Tennessee Tech's affordable out-of-state tuition.
*Money Magazine (2018)
International Out-of-State Residency
An international student is classified for educational purposes as a person who is a citizen or permanent resident of a country other than the United States. Tennessee Tech is authorized under federal law to enroll non-immigrant students. For tuition purposes, degree seeking international undergraduate students are accessed international out-of-state tuition. The cost of international out-of-state tuition is a combination of the in-state rate, the domestic out-of-state rate, and the international out-of-state rate. If you are an international student, please visit Tech's International Admissions page for more information.
Students who live in Clinton, Cumberland, McCreary, Monroe, Wayne or Whitley counties in Kentucky are eligible for in-state tuition.
Applying for In-State Residency or Exceptions
Full In-State Classification
If you have been given a status of “Classification in Progress” or “Out-of-State” and wish to apply for full in-state residency, you may do so by requesting a Residency Form from the Office of Admissions, 931-372-3888 or firstname.lastname@example.org. Photocopies of documents supporting your case should be supplied with your application including, but not limited to: deed of trust of primary domicile, long-term lease of primary domicile, evidence of longevity in the state, evidence of full-time employment in Tennessee or transfer to Tennessee, military discharge papers, driver’s license, etc.
For a PDF of Frequently Asked Questions on the In-State Residency application process, click here.
Persons that are able to provide proof that they are currently working 30+ hours per week in Tennessee may apply to take a part-time load at the in-state rate. These students may take up to 11 hours in the fall and spring semesters and up to 7 hours in the summer semester. Simply provide proof of employment in Tennessee as part of your admissions materials to be considered for in-state tuition. All decisions are made on a case-by-case basis.
Academic Common Market
The Academic Common Market is an interstate agreement between southern states for sharing academic programs not readily available in the home state. Participating states allow residents who qualify for admission to enroll in specific programs in other states to pay at the in-state rate in the state where the program is offered. Students who are participating in another program which covers out-of-state tuition are not eligible.
To be considered, you must:
- apply and be accepted for admission into a program which your home state has obtained access for its residents through the Academic Common Market, AND
- obtain certification of residency from the Common Market Coordinator in your home state.
More information on the Academic Common Market can be found here.
Permanently Disabled or 60+ Students
If you are permanently or totally disabled or are over 60 years of age and domiciled in Tennessee, you may qualify for a fee reduction or fee waiver program. For more information about these programs, contact the Office of the Bursar.