Human Ecology Student Organizations

A student club participates in a trick or treating activity for a local women's shelter.Child and Family Sciences Organization

The CFS student organization focuses on children and families and the education and development of professionals who will be working with children and families. The content provided in meetings is focused on both students in the Family and Consumer Science Education concentration and Child Development and Family Relations concentration.

Officers 2019-2020

President: Mary Lee

Vice President: Hailey Craig

Treasurer: Taylor Beth Mofield

Secretary: Jordan Delight

Marketing/Social Media: Kyndell Shaffer and Tatera Roe

Faculty Advisors
Dr. Lee Ann Shipley
Dr. Rufaro Chitiyo

Meetings 2019-2020

Our meetings are the 3rd Tuesday of every month at dead hour in Room 114 in Oakley Hall. The main focus of our meetings is to learn about programs that support individuals and families in the Upper Cumberland and throughout Middle Tennessee. We also learn about possible internship opportunities for those students in the CDFR concentration.


We support these agencies and programs by volunteering or giving. For example, we have held a diaper drive for Cookeville Pregnancy Center, and made gift bags of developmentally appropriate art supplies for the Monterey Head Start Program.

Field Trips

Each year we take field trips to see child and family advocacy in action. In the past, we have visited Haley Farm which is part of the Children’s Defense Fund in Clinton, TN. We also visited Mercy Multiplied Ministries outside of Nashville, Thistle Farms in Nashville, and a Montessori child care program in Knoxville, TN.

Child Life Association

 The Child Life Association's mission is to provide child life professionals with networking opportunities for child life students and faculty in the school of Human Ecology; to educate others about the field of child life, both on campus and in the community; to seek professional development and educational opportunities from professional child life specialists; and to focus on activities that positively impact children and families in healthcare.

Officers 2019-2020

President – Abby Bowen

Vice President – Abigail Staley

Secretary – Ashley Clark

Treasurer – Megan Shaw

Social Media – Tatera Roe

Fundraising - Brad Wilkins and Annabelle Mcginnis

Meeting Dates for 2019-2020
The  Child Life Association will meet on the third Thursday of each moth from 11 am - 12 pm.

Food, Nutrition and Dietetics Club

The purpose of the FND Club is to promote an interest in and appreciation of the various food, nutrition, and dietetic professions; to provide an opportunity for a closer relationship between students and faculty in the School of Human Ecology; and to foster establishment of contacts with persons already engaged in related professional careers. Each year, club members are involved in outreach and service projects both on and off campus, including projects with the Student Tennessee Association of Nutrition and Dietetics organization.

Officers 2018-2019
President: Kristine Tuttle 
Vice President: Lauren Gleaves
Secretary/Treasurer: Soyoung Choi 
Social Medial Chair: Julia Vesely 
Community Service Chair: Alyssa Lewin 
Fundraiser Chair: Olivia Clements 
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Samantha Hutson and Dr. Sungpo Yi

Meetings 2019-2020

The meeting times for the FND club are each 4th Tuesday of the month from 11 am - 12 pm in Oakley Hall, Room 114.

For more information, please visit our Facebook page:
FND Facebook page

FND Instagram

Housing and Design Association

The Housing & Design Association is a bridge linking members with professionals through activities such as field trips, seminars, and meetings. The members of this association work alongside Putnam County Habitat for Humanity. Membership is open.

2019-2020 Officers

President Jacob Williams

Vice President – Linnea Churchill

Secretary/Treasurer: Natajha Johnson

Social Media: Hannah Tenpenny and Laura Bynum

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Melinda Anderson


The Housing & Design Association meets the 2nd Thursday at 11 am.

Kappa Omicron Nu

Kappa Omicron Nu is the leading honor society for students in the human sciences. It was established on February 21, 1990 by the consolidation of Kappa Omicron Phi and Omicron Nu. Kappa Omicron Nu chapters are located in colleges and universities that offer a strong human sciences program.

Chapter members are undergraduate and graduate students who major in one of the specializations and meet the high standards of scholarship. The professional category of membership includes alumni of college chapters and faculty and others not previously initiated into Kappa Omicron Nu or its predecessor societies. Candidates must have earned one or more degrees in the human sciences or are working in the field and have the minimum class rank as a student.

Our Mission

The mission of Kappa Omicron Nu is empowered leaders who use an integrative approach to enhance quality of living through excellence in scholarship, leadership, and research. Kappa Omicron Nu values recognition, reward, advancement, and strong affiliation networks. These ends enhance the ability of the organization and chapters to prepare scholars and researchers as leaders for the 21st century.

An informative video is available for more information (Adobe Flash Player is required). The video and content above are used by permission of Lisa Wootton Booth, COO, Kappa Omicron Nu.

2019-2020 Officers 
 President: Megan Keith

Vice Presidents: Olivia Moore and Hailee Neely

Secretary: Josie McGhee

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Melinda Anderson

Merchandising Association

 The Merchandising Association’s goal is to cultivate students’ experiences of Merchandising and Design through traveling, networking, and events production. Our association also provides leadership opportunities to members by participating in service projects and promotion activities related to the fashion and design field. We hope to encourage diversity, leadership and creativity for members to grow as innovative students and professionals.

Officers 2019-2020

President - Hannah Petty
Vice President - Kiara Blain
Secretary - Summer Maxwell
Treasurer - Autumn Lamberson
PR Coordinators - Shelby Walton and Bailey Madewell
Fashion Show Coordinators - Erin Simmons, Chloe Land, and Mason Smith

Meetings 2019-2020

The Merchandising Association meets every second Tuesday of the month from 11 am - 12 pm in Oakley Hall, Room 122.



Experience Tech For Yourself

Visit us to see what sets us apart.

Schedule Your Visit
College of Agriculture and Human Ecology