Sustainable Campus Committee

 

Creating a more environmentally sustainable campus is a top priority for Tennessee Tech and its students.

In 2005, the student body voted to pay an additional $8 fee (Bill F05-01) to help pay for and implement green projects and programs. SGA voted to increase this fee to $10.00 (Bill S18-017) in the Spring of 2018 

Since then, the university has used the money generated by students to purchase a fleet of electric vehicles, institute student-run recycling and bike share programs across the campus, install more efficient lights and motion sensors to turn them on and off, and many more projects to make this campus more environmentally friendly.

Projects are selected and funds dispersed by the Sustainable Campus Committee, which is comprised of a mix of students, faculty and staff.

Recently, we have invested in the AASHE STARS Program, Green Power Switch, Project Regrind & Associated Research, along with other initiatives such as Student Outreach through things such as Earth Week Activities and the “Tree”mendous planting on campus. We are currently working towards LEED Certification for the new Science Building, but are always open to new project ideas from students on campus. You can submit your ideas through our proposal form.

Meeting Information

Our meetings are always open to students and faculty that would like to sit in. The start time is 3:30 P.M. and the location is in the Facilities' Conference Room ( 220 W. 10th Street Cookeville, Tennessee 38505). 

Fall 2019 Sustainable Campus Committee Meetings

September 4th, 2019

September 18th, 2019

October 2nd, 2019

October 16th, 2019

October 30th, 2019

November 13th, 2019

December 4th, 2019

Members

Ms. Shelby Brewer- Chairman
Psychology | email: sbrewer42@students.tntech.edu
Mr. Justin Douglass
Mechanical Eng. | email: jtdouglass42@students.tntech.edu
Mr. David Garber
Mathematics | email: dgarber42@students.tntech.edu
Mr. Cole Stovall
Mechanical Engineering | email: castovall42@students.tntech.edu
Ms. Mohera Narimetla
Mathematics & Chemical Engineering | email: mmnarimetl42@students.tntech.edu
Ms. Tess Simpson
Psychology | email: tasimpson42@students.tntech.edu
Ms. Amber Asberry- Communications and Marketing
email: aasberry@tntech.edu
Mr. Anthony Paradis- Nutrition & Athletics
email: aparadis@tntech.edu
Mr. Garrett Lucas- Campus Recreation
email: glucas@tntech.edu
Ms. Katie Williams- Student Affairs/RUC
email: kwilliams@tntech.edu
Dr. Steve Sharp- Environmental Sciences
email: ssharp@tntech.edu
Dr. Brian Leckie- Agriculture
email: bleckie@tntech.edu
Mr. Josh Hulgan- Residential Life
email: jhulgan@tntech.edu
Mr. Jessup Peterson- Residential Life
email: jcpeterson@tntech.edu
Mr. Kevin Tucker- Facilities/Recycling
email: ttucker@tntech.edu
Mr. Brian Carver- Biology
email: bcarver@tntech.edu
Ms. Shawn Krosnick- Biology
email: skrosnick@tntech.edu
Ms. DeLayne Miller (Facilities)- Executive Officer
email: dlmiller@tntech.edu

Experience Tech For Yourself

Visit us to see what sets us apart.

Schedule Your Visit
Sustainable Projects