COVID-19 Reporting and Information • HEERF I, II & III

YuJa Media

Sharing Media

Sharing media in YuJa is easy to do. There are different reasons to share media and also different ways. 

Allowing Your Entire Class to View Videos

If you are wanting to allow your class to view a video,

Sharing a Video with a Colleague or TA

If you would like to share access to a video with a colleague or TA, 

  • you can share the video with Full Access, Edit Access, or Read Only access.
    • Be aware, Full Access allows a person to also Delete. 

To use this option, the other person must already have a YuJa Media account.

Providing Students in Quarantine with Video Content

Another consideration is during this time, there might be some students who need access to videos, but you don't want to provide access for all. You can accomplish this in multiple ways.

Using Groups | Sharing with Individuals | Providing a Link

Using Groups in iLearn to release videos to specific people

This option will allow you to add all your videos into a module or modules and add release conditions based on the group a student is enrolled in. Once setup, you can move students in and out of the group to give them access to videos when needed.

Depending on how many students you have and how much flexibility you want to have, here are some options in how to setup the class groups.

  • You can choose to create a group category with one group where you enroll and unenroll people as they need access.
    • Create a group
    • Select from the Enrollment Type drop-down: # of Groups - No Auto Enrollments.
    • Number of Groups: Enter 1.
  • You can create a category with a group for each lecture and enroll people into that group as needed. 
    • Create a group
    • Select from the Enrollment Type drop-down: # of Groups - No Auto Enrollments.
    • Number of Groups: Enter the number of lectures you will have.
    • You may want to rename the group names to match the lectures. It can be generic, like Week 1, Lecture 1. To edit the names, 
      • View the Groups
      • Select the group name
      • Enter the name you would like to use.
      • Click Save

After you setup the groups, you will do the following:

  1. Create a Module in Content for the class videos. 
  2. Add Release Conditions for the module to only allow people in the group to access.
    1. Go to the Module
    2. Select Add dates and restrictions
    3. Choose the Create button
    4. Select Group Enrollment under Classlist in the Condition Type drop-down list.
    5. Select the group from the Group drop-down list that should have access to the materials.
    6. Click Create
    7. Click Update
  3. Add your videos to the module for each lecture.
  4. Enroll users in the group when needed.
  5. Unenroll users when they are done with quarantine.

If you choose to have a group per week or lecture, you will need to do the following: 

  1. Create a Module in Content for the class videos. 
  2. Add Release Conditions for the module to only allow people in the group to access.
    1. Go to the Module
    2. Select Add dates and restrictions
    3. Choose the Create button
    4. Select Group Enrollment under Classlist in the Condition Type drop-down list.
    5. Select the group category you created from the Group drop-down list that should have access to the materials. Do not pick a specific group at this level.
    6. Click Create
    7. Click Update
  3. Add your videos to the module for each lecture.
  4. Add the release conditions for the videos individually, or weekly, depending on how you want to release the information.
    1. Select the arrow to the right of the video link in content.
    2. Choose Edit Properties In-place
    3. Select Add dates and restrictions
    4. Choose the Create button
    5. Select Group Enrollment under Classlist in the Condition Type drop-down list.
    6. Select the specific group you created from the Group drop-down list that should have access to the materials. 
    7. Click Create
    8. Click Update
  5. Enroll users in the group when needed.
  6. Unenroll users when they are done with quarantine.
Using Zoom Files?

If using this option for Zoom recordings that you are uploading into iLearn, make sure you rename the Zoom_0.MP4 prior to uploading or you will overwrite the previous MP4 since all meeting recordings have the same name.

Using the Share - Read Only option for specific people

This option allows you to share the video with a specific student. You will have to share all videos that the user needs individually. When they are done with quarantine, if you want to remove access, you will have to remove it on each video individually. The student will have had to setup their account in YuJa Media prior to using this option. They can do this by selecting the YuJa Media link in iLearn. This automatically creates the account.

  1. Select YuJa Media
  2. Place your cursor on the video to be shared.
  3. Select the Share option on the menu that appears.
  4. Enter the person's first or last name to find them in the list. The username's are not the same in YuJa as their TTU account so you most likely won't find them using the username. 
  5. Select the correct person from the list and choose the access level you want them to have.
    1. Full Access: Allow the user to access, make changes, and delete media.
    2. Edit Access: Allow the user to access and make changes to the media.
    3. Read Only: Allow the user to access and view the media.
  6. Click Share
  7. Click Save

This option can be applied to a folder. Select the folder, then choose More Actions in the menu bar. Select Share Folder. All other steps above will be the same.

Using the Security Settings for the Direct Link to a video

Be aware, this will apply to all who have the link to the video, not just one person.

  1. Select YuJa Media
  2. Place your cursor on the video to be shared.
  3. Select the More option on the menu that appears.
  4. Select Links in the left-side menu.
  5. Select Security Settings you want on the video. (You have multiple options here, but Password or Authentication Restriction or Date Restriction will be your best options.)
    1. Password or Authentication Restriction: Set a password or require users to login to access the shared media.
    2. Date Restriction: Set a date range the media content will be available for.
  6. Copy the Direct Link
  7. Provide the link to the specific student.

This option can applied to a folder. You will want to select the folder, then click the gear icon and choose More. All other steps above will be the same.

View more information about Sharing Media.