COVID-19 Reporting and Information • HEERF I & II

Chemistry

faculty retreat

Faculty & Staff

The Department of Chemistry faculty and staff are listed below.  Click on a name to go to the individual's profile page which includes more details.

Jeffrey Boles, PhD - Chair
Lab Science Commons, Rm. 1104  ||  jboles@tntech.edu  ||  372-3421  


Andrew Callendar, PhD - Assistant Professor
Lab Science Commons, Rm. 3103  ||  acallender@tntech.edu  ||  372-6273


Ann Marie Carrick - Senior Instructor
Lab Science Commons, Rm. 1110  || acarrick@tntech.edu  ||  372-3093


Jesse Carrick, PhD - Professor
Lab Science Commons, Rm. 3304  ||  jcarrick@tntech.edu  ||  372-6199


Amanda Carroll, PhD - Senior Lecturer
Lab Science Commons, Rm. 1310  ||  acarroll@tntech.edu  ||  372-6324


William R. Carroll, PhD - Associate Professor
Lab Science Commons, Rm. 3314  ||  wcarroll@tntech.edu  ||  372-6094


Derek Cashman, PhD - Lecturer
Lab Science Commons, Rm. 2313  ||  dcashman@tntech.edu  ||  372-3894


Andreea Cojocaru, PhD - Instructor
Lab Science Commons, Rm. 3316  ||  ocojocaru@tntech.edu  ||  372-3799


Janet Coonce - Senior Instructor
Lab Science Commons, Rm. 1123  ||  jcoonce@tntech.edu  ||  372-6521


David Crouse, PhD - Associate Professor
Lab Science Commons, Rm. 3302  ||  dcrouse@tntech.edu  ||  372-3515


Dale Ensor, PhD - Emeritus Faculty
Lab Science Commons, Rm. 1121  ||  densor@tntech.edu  ||  372-3493


Wilson Gichuhi, PhD - Associate Professor
Lab Science Commons, Rm. 2317  ||  wgichuhi@tntech.edu  ||  372-3499


Robert Glinski, PhD - Emeritus Faculty
rglinski@tntech.edu


Tammie Hanchey - Academic Support Associate
Lab Science Commons, Rm. 1318  ||  thanchey@tntech.edu  ||  372-6168


Zachary Holden, PhD - Instructor
Lab Science Commons, Rm. 1312  ||  zholden@tntech.edu  ||  372-3748


Xiaohua Jiang, PhD - Associate Professor
Lab Science Commons, Rm. 2116  ||  xjiang@tntech.edu  ||  372-3814


Edward Lisic, PhD - Professor
Lab Science Commons, Rm. 3303  ||  edlisic@tntech.edu  ||  372-3425


Twanelle Majors, PhD - Lecturer
Lab Science Commons, Rm. 1124  ||  tmajors@tntech.edu  ||  372-6399


Tammy Martorana - Administrative Associate
Lab Science Commons, Rm. 1111  ||  tmartorana@tntech.edu  ||  372-3093


Jonathan Moldenhauer, PhD - Instructor
Lab Science Commons, Rm. 3117  ||  jmoldenhauer@tntech.edu  ||  372-6866


Gene Mullins - Lab Coordinator
Lab Science Commons, Rm. 3118  ||  gmullins@tntech.edu  ||  372-3536


Tina Norman - Financial Associate
Lab Science Commons, Rm. 1107  ||  tcnorman@tntech.edu  ||  372-3184


Lisa Norsworthy - Administrative Associate
Lab Science Commons, Rm. 1106  ||  lnorsworthy@tntech.edu  ||  372-3957


Chad Rezsnyak, PhD - Associate Professor
Lab Science Commons, Rm. 1313  ||  crezsnyak@tntech.edu  ||  372-6282


Kathryn Rust - Instructor
Lab Science Commons, Rm. 1311  ||  krust@tntech.edu  ||  372-3423


Daniel Swartling, PhD - Associate Professor
Lab Science Commons, Rm. 3301  ||  dswart@tntech.edu  ||  372-3431


Martha Wells, PhD - Emeritus Faculty
Lab Science Commons, Rm. 1121  ||  mjmwells@tntech.edu  ||  372-3493


Xuanzhi Zhan, PhD - Associate Professor
Lab Science Commons, Rm. 2115  ||  xzhan@tntech.edu  ||  372-3427


Hong Zhang, PhD - Professor
Lab Science Commons, Rm. 3102  ||  hzhang@tntech.edu  ||  372-6325

Graduate Students / Teaching Assistants

 

clementCLEMENT ARUADA (Master's Student)

I am from Nigeria. I earned my bachelor's degree in industrial chemistry from the Federal University of Petroleum Resources Effurun Delta State, Nigeria.  

As a graduate student here at Tennessee Technological University, my research is primarily focused on method development and optimization for the determination, and quantification of per fluorinated alkylated substances (PFAS) in post-treatment water, surface water, soil, and packaging materials for consumer goods by solid phase microextraction (SPE), dispersive liquid-liquid microextraction (DLLME), and gas chromatography triple quadrupole mass spectrometer (QqQ-GC-MS)''.


sekyere

SEKYERE BOATENG (Master's Student)

Education: Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST), Bachelor of Science in Biochemistry, 2018.

I am from Ghana and graduated with a degree in biochemistry focusing on clinical biochemistry. Currently, I am a member of the Zhan lab as a graduate student in chemistry studying protein - protein interactions.


kyleKYLE LYONS (Master's Student)

Hello! I am a 2nd year MS student under Dr. Jiang researching the mechanism of inhibition of topoisomerase II α via thiosemicarbazone-metal complexes. I earned a BS in chemistry at Tennessee Technological University May of 2019. After defending my MS thesis, I hope to matriculate into a MD/PhD dual-degree program to continue a research-oriented career. 

I currently live in Knoxville since 2019 but grew up in Cookeville. Cooking and poking fun at my cats occupies some of my free time. I also volunteer with Remote Area Medical as a Patient Registration Supervisor at clinics within and outside of Tennessee. In 2015 I earned Eagle Scout and in 2016 I backpacked at Philmont in New Mexico for 10 days.


haleyHALEY MAYSE (PhD Student)

My name is Haley Mayse and I am from Morristown, TN.  I received my bachelor's in chemistry from Lincoln Memorial University in 2019.  I moved to Cookeville with my husband and dogs shortly after.  I am studying the degradation of amphetamine-type stimulants when exposed to UV light in wastewater treatment plants.


rob

ROBERT (ROB) OLIVER (Master's Student)

I am originally from Mackay, Queensland, Australia. I graduated from my BSc at Queensland University of Technology in Brisbane majoring in Chemistry/Industrial Chemistry in 2009. I completed a Graduate Diploma in Extractive Metallurgy at the Western Australian School of Mines in 2013. I worked at Glencore’s McArthur River Lead-Zinc Project from 2009 to 2012, where I was introduced to selective, sequential froth flotation, selective oxidative leaching, and geochemical analysis of base metal sulfides. I was also the site radiation safety officer. From 2012 to 2021 I was a manager for Intertek PLC’s Indonesian minerals operations where I furthered my understanding of geochemical analysis, in particular speciation of sulfide minerals. While working at Intertek I collaborated with Dr Dominique François-Bongarçon on research into particle size analysis and minerals sampling theory. At Tech, my area of interest is chromatographic separation of actinides and lanthanides, and intraseries separation of lanthanides with Dr Dale Ensor.


 

Experience Tech For Yourself

Visit us to see what sets us apart.

Schedule Your Visit
COLLEGE OF ARTS & SCIENCES